AAR Corp. logo
AAR Corp.
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Receive weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

AAR Corp. Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.2Work–Life Balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Showing all 544 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Not a bad place tonwork

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Overall this is a good place to work. Do you know what your job is every day In my current immediate supervisor gives me a good guidance and direction. Advancement in The company would most likely require you to relocate.

Pros

Pay

Cons

Dependent healthcare is costly
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

8 July 2021
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" Dellinger
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Feast or Famine

There either always hiring or always laying off. Most of the people you work with on the floor are cool. Most of the supervisors are not. No room for advancement Unless you're of a certain 'hue'.

Pros

Early work schedule, good co workers.

Cons

Poor management and HORRIBLE pay.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

The place is a mess

The Management only cares about getting planes out. Troop welfare is nonexistent. The pay is low. The hours long. The recognition and respect is zero.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

7 June 2021
Hello, and we appreciate your feedback. The corporation is always striving to improve. I will forward your comments to the appropriate people at this location.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" Dellinger
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

AAR is on the low end of the pay scale.

The company is top heavy with management. If you get along with the management you will be promoted. They put people in management positions who are clueless, irresponsible and if you screw up enough and management likes you, they will make you a manager to keep your hands off the equipment.

Pros

You will learn new skills.

Cons

Management is the down fall of this company, specifically AAR MRO division.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

7 June 2021
Hello, We appreciate the feedback, and will continue to always strive to improve.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Management is apathetic at best

I have been with AAR for some time. Between management demanding up to 300 percent workload increase with no additional equipment nor compensation and a completely apathetic disposition towards safety protocols and proper procedures, it has been stressful. But the environment created by coworkers and lower level management sometimes made the hassle worth it.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

7 June 2021
Hello, and thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback, and will continue to improve.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR HQ in Wood Dale, IL

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Low salary

Miami Fl, not a good place to work, the mentality of this place is money first safety is secondary, AAR is a good company to work but not at Miami Florida
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

15 March 2021
Hello, as we appreciate your feedback and are always striving to improve.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" Dellingergdellinger@aarcorp.com
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Aviation in southwestern Ontario

I've been working at AAR since it was Premier aviation. There have been many changes in the company during this time, some good and some bad, but I feel that we've become a better company as a result. Usually aviation is a cyclical industry where it's very busy then slow repeating. Since the pandemic began our workload has steadily increased until now we could really use more competent and responsible folk who'd like to help grow AAR Windsor into the future! The pay is comparable to other MROs. It starts a little over minimum wage and goes up quickly as you learn the trade. If you're already licenced you can start at a decent wage and go up from there. The consensus among workers is that the health benefits are fairly weak, though the company is working hard to find a better plan for everyone. I've enjoyed working here and living in YQG and looking forward to what the future of AAR Windsor will be!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

15 March 2021
Greetings, and thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback.Blue skies,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR HQ
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Amazing company

AAR-OKC is a great company. There are some few concerns but with any company you will have that. If you want to succeed you will at AAR. Concerns include the company needs to be more racially/lifestyle diverse (need to catch-up with the times) but no matter who you are there is a sense of belonging

Pros

People

Cons

People
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

25 January 2021
Greetings, and thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR Outreach & Engagement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Fun place to work

Great for first time entry level mechanics coming out of high school. Management is very poor. Biased also. From the director, to HR to the lead. They don’t know anything. They should look for another job somewhere else. Only about getting units out the door and units coming back to charge customer more money. Company will not last long! Very bad place to work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

11 January 2021
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, and are always striving to improve. I will forward your comments to the appropriate people at this facility.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Horrible company awful management

AAR took over my DOS contract from another big contracting company. Everything about work got worse. AAR wanted to play with the big boy contracts but was not ready or willing to do big boy things.

Pros

decent living conditions abroad, but not set up by AAR. only thing I could think of

Cons

401k match awful, management awful, benefits bleh
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

11 January 2021
Hello, and thank you for your review. I will forward your comments to leaders. We are always striving to improve, and be as strong as possible.V/R,Greg "G-Man" Dellinger
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Poor management...micro managers

Uncertain about how long the hanger will actually be open. Bad management, HR tells all your business to other employees, supervisors are a joke they don't even know the job your required to do. BAD pay, no advancement, if your not liked they hold you back from everything. Too much favoritism amoung employee and supervisors.

Pros

Free lunches

Cons

Bad management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

3 December 2020
Hello, as we appreciate your feedback, and are always striving to improve. I will forward your comments to the appropriate people at this location.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR HQOutreach & Engagement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Toxic work environment

To say the least Senior leadership leaves a lot to be desired. The company is going bankrupt and has huge cash flow issues. Avoid working here, it is a dumpster fire!

Pros

None

Cons

Everything / Culture / work environment
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

2 December 2020
We appreciate your feedback and are always striving to improve. I will forward your comments to the appropriate people at this location.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR HQOutreach & Engagement, Aviation Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

sweat shop that uses you up and spits you out

management were unorganized didn't help you succeed and asked you to rush jobs to completion. The pay was low for amount of work asked, but you gain experience there and never want to return.

Pros

experience

Cons

everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

22 November 2020
Thank you for your feedback, as we are always striving to improve. Special note was that the hangar was closed around five years ago.Sincerely,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Its something

Just work there long enough to get your experience and leave. The managers don't appreciate you and they will drop you quick and throw you under the bus
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

18 November 2020
We appreciate your feedback and are always striving to improve. I will forward your comments to the appropriate folks at the Indy hangar.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR HQ
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Great place to start lot of work all the time.

Work-life balanceWork-life balance at AAR Corp. is okPay & benefitsMy pay and benefits at AAR Corp. are okJob security and advancementIn terms of job security at AAR Corp., I think ok
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

18 November 2020
Hello, and thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback.V/R,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR HQ
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Requires high energy and stamina

I spent many years at AAR only to be let go due to Covid-19. I do completely understand the company's reasoning behind that even though I don't agree with the way it was handled. I have since found other employment. Before the covid pandemic, there was a great deal of work, requiring a lot of energy and stamina to get you through. There were many times I believed that management was slow to react to increasing workloads, placing even more burden on the employees already there. Saw some young inexperienced people placed into leadership rolls, for reasoning I don't understand. There was a lot of stress with the workload and hours required to complete it. At times, shoddy work was pushed in the name of delivering on time and it seemed as though "card count" was more important than quality work. Doing the job right the first time was not the mind set of many of the leads and many times resulted in work being redone more than once. "Doing it Right" really needs to be stressed instead of "card count". I don't have any regrets working at AAR and as with other companies, they have their issues. If you are a new mechanic looking to get a start, have a lot of stamina, desire and energy, AAR is the place to get your experience. I truly hope AAR can work out their issues and change their mindset. It would make for a more positive work environment and a great place to work.

Pros

Guaranteed lots of overtime

Cons

Inexperienced people in Leadership rolls
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

18 November 2020
We appreciate your feedback, as the industry works through COVID-19. Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR HQ
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

teamwork and hardworking

AAR is a good place to work but management need improvement with staff.I expericed a good envoronment but compant at times don,t handle conflicts between co workers well enough. AAR HR yet issues get to point that employee want to resign due to unfair decision making overall.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

18 November 2020
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are always striving to improve. I will share your comments with the Team at the Indianapolis hangars.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" Dellinger
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Revolving Door

Please do not waste your time. Never have I worked at such a dysfunctional place. Management is only worried on production, rather than the process/how the repairs done. The job itself is not difficult, however getting your job done due to the lack of support is the issue. Shop tools are dated, and for the amount of inspection paperwork and regulations you deal with just does not justify the pay rate. Rather than focusing time back into the shop, management is more focused on walking around to catch you on your phone. Benefits are decent. Only beneficial thing is the Personal Time Off, as you can use it with short notice and to your liking. You are only good as the last unit you repaired.

Pros

You get paid.

Cons

Personal time off
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

18 November 2020
We appreciate your review. I will forward your comments to the appropriate people at the repair station, as we are always striving to improve.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" Dellinger
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Upper management doesn’t care about employees

The company pays poorly, has mediocre benefits and cares nothing about their employees. Layoffs are a regular thing. No job security. Poorly run company.

Pros

You got a paycheck

Cons

Poor top management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

18 November 2020
Hello, as we appreciate the feedback. We are always striving to improve. I'll send your note to the leadership Team at this location.Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR HQ in Chicago, IL, USA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

The worst company ever

This company has no pros but pay, awful management, dirty environment, and one of the managers Petrice is awful. Stay far away!! Do not ever work here you will regret it.

Pros

Starting pay

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

18 November 2020
Hello, as we do appreciate all feedback. V/R,Greg "G-Man" Dellinger
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

great company

Work-life balanceThis is a great company to start the aviation careerOverallthis is a great starting company in this company you will get paid based on your knowledge the more you know about aviation the more chances you get to get a better position
Was this review helpful?

Official response from AAR Corp.

20 November 2020
Thank you for your review, as we appreciate the positivity!Very Respectfully,Greg "G-Man" DellingerAAR

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AAR Corp.. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2

Based on 544 reviews
5
105
4
146
3
144
2
77
1
72

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.1Culture
  • Companies
  • AAR Corp.
  • Employee Reviews