Auckland University of Technology
Receive weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Auckland University of Technology Employee Reviews in Auckland City, Auckland

Job Title
All
Location
Auckland City, Auckland39 reviews
Found 39 reviews matching the search
See all 55 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Organisaiton
Auckland University of Technology has a friendly and well-balanced and respected team culture among international business employees, which is a well-mixed culture.
Was this review helpful?
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
As I came in on temp contract was only supposed to work for the summer, they ended up keeping me on for another year, all staff I worked with were great however certain management was poor.
Was this review helpful?
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, Good people, Nice Benefits
A great bunch of people, no real pressure and lots of good benefits.
There are really busy periods of work and then really slow periods. Happy to recommend.
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
The working culture in AUT was very well managed and secure. The team leader and manager were very supportive and creative. came across many difficulties during work both was well prepared to managed it.
Was this review helpful?
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
It's a good place to work with a good life/work balance.
Got opportunities for professional development. But not fairly recognizing the efforts of contract staff. Govt. rules say that if you have been working on a contract basis for two years you should be offered a permanent position. But usually, managers play all the games by moving you in and out from a fixed-term to causal basis and no one is looking over this. This caused a lot of frustration and feeling of insecurity to the contract employees
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed culture. Being a University adminstrative affairs tend to be very slow.
I found this to be a collaborative, supportive, and relaxed environment to work in. I was surrounded by smart capable people which I found stimulating. The largest downside was administrative overheads that come with being a large university.
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused but fun work place
Extremely busy and work focused staff members. However, everyone is always open for a moment to share a joke and collaborate ideas. Respectful environment with diversity.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Auckland University of Technology
2 September 2019
Many thanks for your feedback and insights, much appreciated
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Aut is a fun and exciting place to study and volunteer for, you get the freedom to really explore you capabilities and learn experiences that help in the read world. event planning was highly fun working in team enviroment.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Auckland University of Technology
2 September 2019
Many thanks for the comments, great to see you had the freedom mentioned to make the most of your role here!
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Auckland University of Technology?
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agile Approach to helping other workers and students.
Good working environment to gain ICT experience.
Able to work in a team environment.

Flexible in working in any environment.

Team player.


My Role involves assisting AUT staff and students with ICT queries regarding their accounts in person or over the phone, printer maintenance, and making sure the computer labs are operating smoothly every shift.
Pros
Management supportive
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Auckland University of Technology
3 April 2019
Many thanks for the feedback, great to hear you're enjoying your role in ICT!
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New job
It was a highly academic job and had a lot to learn, Since i was fresh out of University, I thoroughly enjoyed the job to begin with but soon got over as it was a fixed-term job.
Pros
Work environment
Cons
Fixed term job
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Auckland University of Technology
19 November 2018
Thanks for the feedback, glad you enjoyed the experience with us.

Keep an eye on the Careers site (https://www.aut.ac.nz/about/careers-at-aut) and ensure you're registered for job alerts for permanent opportunities as they are advertised, which may be of interest in the future.
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
A fun place work to in with great colleagues. great work place culture and was a joy to work in. There was no pressure from the management and you were at liberty to come up with creative ideas to engage the students.
Pros
no pressure
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Auckland University of Technology
19 November 2018
Many thanks for the positive feedback - and fantastic to hear you embraced the flexibility available to create and come up with new ideas for student engagement.
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time
I was on a contract and it was a very stressful workplace: cutthroat, lack of training and professional development, lack of inclusion, poor management.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Auckland University of Technology
11 September 2018
Thank you for your feedback. This is not the experience we would want any of our staff at AUT to experience. One of our key themes is that AUT is a great place to work and study, and we have many initiatives in place to support this. We hope you raised your concerns with your line manager or your relevant HR representative during your time with us, but if not then we’d welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with us so that we can make improvements.
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Its a fun place where you meet new people from all walks in life. However, sometimes stressful with everything that happens in a university. Nonetheless, the experience is worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Auckland University of Technology
10 September 2018
Thanks for the feedback, glad you enjoyed your time with AUT
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Its a very good university with high quality of work. I have enjoyed working in this company , well supported by both the management and staff. Management are excellent and highly experienced
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Auckland University of Technology
10 September 2018
We appreciate your feedback. Great to hear that you felt the support of management and colleagues and your time working with AUT was a positive one.
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
i work under a programme that is run by Auckland University of Technology where i am able to experience new opportunities that challenge me and make me step out of my comfort zone.
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Very good employer and highly ranked in world. Privileged to be part of this organisation. Good professional development for more opportunities. Busy most times.
Pros
Professional development opportunities
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable workspace
They always renew computers and other devices for students. Staff need to learn new system of projectors, computer logins, etc. They allow teacher to import new robot and idea to teach.
Pros
new computer
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for students
Excellent part-time work for a tertiary student. Helped to integrate into working life. Range of job duties and lots of training provided. Worked with lots of different age and ethnic groups. Very culture focused.
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay
It was a training period and fortunately, I got a temporary work. Unfortunately, I had to fly out of New Zealand in an emergency and at the time I did not have any assurance of the job.
Pros
free coffee
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
AUT Business School, in particular, takes a collaborative approach to learning so lectures are interactive and are supplemented with a lot of group workshops in small classes of less than 40.
Pros
Free lunches, Guest Speakers, Great Education
Cons
Understandably high cost of studying
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
AUT helped expand my skill set and knowledge about professionalism in the workforce. It taught me pastoral care and confidentiality and helped me develop an excellent work ethic.
Pros
Flexibility with hours
Cons
Slightly disconnected amongst departments
Was this review helpful?