Avis Budget Group Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 2,530 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Nelson City, Nelson15 June 2018
Car rentals, office administration, car grooming.
Staff friendly with good sense of humour.
Management usually reasonable.
Workplace culture usually positive.
Hardest part is long on-call hours with average wages.
Friendly and fun work environment.
Pros
Fun and Friendly work environment
Cons
Long hours and average wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Vehicle service agent (Former Employee) –  Christchurch, Canterbury4 October 2018
Great team to work with, Inclusive and focused approach of the management brings out the best out of each employee. Career paths are great and lots to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management flexible
Avis Budget Group, Auckland - Contact Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Auckland31 January 2018
Management was really great and one of the best I've had. They work around your school hours and family too. Pay was a little less but the management and general work place was so good, I didn't mind it.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Lesser pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE TEAM MEMBER (Current Employee) –  Auckland Airport, Auckland27 June 2017
I enjoy meeting various customers from various cultures and all different walks of life. With this skill I have managed to excel in pressure situations and keep a clear head always focusing on the end goal.

Some of the key skills that I have learned in this role:
Commitment to delivering outstanding customer service
Team working skills embracing a healthy spirit of competition
A sense of responsibility that relishes the occasional opportunity to be the sole point of contact for AVIS customers
Pros
Meeting and interacting with different people from all walks of life
Cons
Hourly wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Angenehmes Klima
Aushilfe beim Autoverleih (Former Employee) –  Nelson City, Nelson18 January 2018
- Kundenberatung
- Autokontrollen
- angenehmes Arbeitsklima
- freundliche Mitarbeiter
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thoroughly enjoy the driving
Driver (Current Employee) –  Greymouth, West Coast14 May 2017
When a call comes through to drive sometimes we only have 15 or 20 minutes to reach the yard in town where the cars are and then we receive the keys and paperwork from one of the customer service agents. We then drive the cars to whichever destination we need to and are then picked up by another driver and driven back to our original starting point. Great views and each drive is different. Hard conditions in winter over the Alpine Pass but who doesn't enjoy a challenge.
Pros
Scenery
Cons
Winter driving
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team leader
Credit Controller (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, New Zealand7 October 2016
Target was to make 300 calls to your creditors, allocated queries to the different departments eg (it there is an credit the department who does the credits will do it)

Bank Statements - mark your payments received and allocated to the department to allocated to the account.

It was stressfull to be the whole day on the phone and it was also enjoyable to speak to different people with different languages
Pros
You must break for lunch according to company policy
Cons
No overtime was aloud
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work anywhere but here...
Rental Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Tauranga, Bay of Plenty12 August 2016
They promise advancement, growth and fair treatment. When i was there, I found out growth is only available in big city locations, your growth is very limited (payrise offered after a few months service, was for less than the paper it was written on -literally) and fair treatment was for those with a bigger, better job title.
Lies are told, almost daily. Health and safety comes after making money. Mistakes are punished unfairly and excelling is ignored.
Long story short, I'd rather work at a supermarket than with this company ever again.
Pros
Driving the latest model vehicle
Cons
Everything else that comes with working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get a Job Elsewhere-You'll be Happier
Claims (Former Employee) –  East Coast23 May 2012
The values and integrity at ABG is non-existent. All of the actions from managers on up to the CEO are extremely dishonest and they will do whatever possible to trash you over and cover themselves. You can do a great job yet, they'll fabricate information to intentionally sink you and then pride themselves on their actions.

They'll even go so far as to tell their little "stories" they made up about you to other employees.

Budget truck: "Moving up in Truck Rental" is their motto. That's because when you're at the bottom of the barrel, there's no where to go but up!
Pros
no longer work there
Cons
i use to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor morale and management
Shuttler/Driver (Current Employee) –  Dunedin, S1 August 2013
After working for this company for 3 months it is obvious that the management is letting this branch down by not listening to staff concerns hence the low morale and high turnover of staff throughout all areas. The lack of management has led to good staff leaving and new staff not getting training as required for each role in the branch. There is also a lack of judgement when it comes to staff that do not have the mental capacity to perform which leads to disharmony in the workplace
Pros
Car rental charges
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Busy workplace, always racing around, no time for boredom
Customer Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Rotorua, Bay of Plenty8 December 2013
First thing was to ensure all cars arrived and groomed on time to be contracted out on time, airport clients to meet and greet on time, was full on. Worked after hours at airport to greet clients on late flights. Was always prepared to work extra. Boss was an organised lady, and always had her finger on the pulse of things, Hardest part of the job sometimes was keeping up with her, I had a great respect for both my manager and my team mates as we all had our roles to fill and we were a happy bunch of co-operatives
Pros
Relocating vehicles, got to drive some of the latest available on the market
Cons
Sometimes long hours. Sometimes irregular lunch breaks. Rather a statement of fact than a con.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job in the city but not small towns
Sole Charge Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Westport, West Coast19 November 2015
Two shifts twice a day and have to be very multi tasked in a small town. Job involved a certain dress code to serve customers at the airport but after the cars had been contracted out you had to
clean the cars and of course that included changing into cleaning gear. No shelter when cleaning cars. Some cars were filthy so vacuum cleaning them with hand held vacuums was impossible. Had to carry Avis phone even when not at work and had to answer it. Bookings could be erratic... cancellations. Had to also fuel vehicles so travel time was huge depending on how many cars needed fueling. Constantly shuffling fleet between towns and cities and often not left with enough vehicles if new reservations popped up which often occurred. Enjoyable side of job was the customers and airport
Pros
Definitely a challenge
Cons
Split shift, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Senior Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Auckland New Zealand31 May 2017
12 hour shifts
all about vehicles and their capabilities. Tourism
Management always on hand
workplace all cultures treated with respect and got on famously with each other
Pros
shift swap with colleagues when able
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family orientated workplace
Customer Service Administration Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Auckland, N3 August 2015
Avis Budget Group is a fun work place with very supportive staff & management
The hardest part of the job was leaving great people behind and the workload however I needed to move forward and could not settle for comfort.
Pros
People
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family orientation work environment
Reservation Agent (Former Employee) –  Penrose28 December 2016
People are great to work with
Great leaders and easy to associate with
Workload is not too bad and you get help from everyone.
A lot of fun activities for everyone
Pros
family orientation
Cons
too far
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Branch supervisor (Current Employee) –  Penrose, Auckland2 January 2017
Good company if you want to start from the bottom and slowly grow. I started as cleaning cars at the airport later I moved to penrose location and now I'm a branch supervisor
Pros
Rental discount
Cons
Early mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport

See more Avis Budget Group reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Avis Budget Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,531 reviews
5741
4760
3590
2215
1225

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture