Bupa Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
(Housekeeping) (more than (Former Employee) –  Waikanae, Wellington14 May 2018
Working is more strict based on the given tasks you are required to finish in 3-4 hours. You work alone but can interact with others during a break. Co-workers are friendly and always have smiling faces whenever you see them. Seniors are friendly and fun to talk to and will somehow lighten your day.
Pros
free lollies from elderly and food from company
Cons
Toilet cleaning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  New zealand25 February 2018
Bupa took over from the company that ran the nursing home. This company made a lot Reductions to staff levels on takeover and this resulted in staff leaving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland27 January 2018
i have learned a lot of things from this job like teamwork, helping nature, and many more. the management is also good in Bupa. Nothing is hardest in this job. The most enjoyable part is to spend time with elders.
Pros
meals are offered to staff as well.
Cons
long hours shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basketball or any Activity
Rehabilitation Coach Assistant (Current Employee) –  Henderson, Auckland4 December 2017
Im currently working in BUPA rehab for 5years, Im looking for any position for aged care or disability support worker.

I love playing basketball or any activity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The resident's are loving people
Healthcare assistant (Former Employee) –  Manukau City, Auckland23 November 2017
The normal routine preparing meals and serving for dinnner. The elderly need assistants with all cares. The people with dementia need love and care time and patience does pay off.The management side do their best to ensure quality care is provided. The culture there is respected to all religion and backgrounds. The hardest challlenge was trying to keep everyone together, their were wanderers. There were always enjoyable times.
Pros
You can a break when there is time
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  New Plymouth, Taranaki9 November 2017
Love working for Bupa, Great environment. Management are lovely, the care staff are amzing, so many ways to upskill within the workplace. Great wrok perks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manurewa, Auckland28 October 2017
This position had no beneficial gains it was just a job that filled my time and space until I found something else and moved north. The days were not self forfilling or even positive or safety based for both the workers and the clients. I didn't enjoy or look forward to being on this team of persons.
Pros
nil
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for
Rest home caregiver and recreation officer (Former Employee) –  Telford New Plymouth22 October 2017
I only left Bupa due to buying my own business but am ready to go back into part time or casual work . I found Bupa a pleasant company to work for and managed to advance my training through them .
Pros
I love working with the elderly and Bupa has great ongoing training available
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Auckland24 August 2017
It was great working for Bupa, you form a firm relationship with both residents and staff. The only sad thing about working in a retirement home is you get very attached to the residents and it gets increasingly sad when they pass away
Pros
residents
Cons
residents
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with residents
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Beach Haven, Auckland18 July 2017
Had a good experience working at Bupa. Getting to know the residents was a challenge, the types of food they eat, what they prefer to wear before sleeping and waking up. Loved the residents.
Pros
Free lunches on tuesdays
Cons
Long hours with low rates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small resthome
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Invercargill, Southland29 May 2017
Great Care Staff who provided excellent care
Bupa provides great powerpoints which are used for regular education sessions
Great residents
Issues were not addressed / resolved which led to dissatisfaction and frustration
The facility has been refurbished looking clean and fresh
There is a lack of communication between the apartment residents and the facility so when someone is unwell in the apartments and the facility staff are called to check them they do not know them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
living up with I am Bupa
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Auckland, Auckland14 May 2017
the best company i ever worked for. I like how managers are trained to lead their staffs. there is a certain standard of care you know as Bupa way. Im glad I worked for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good envious
Household supervisor (Former Employee) –  Manukau City, Auckland20 March 2017
Nice environment and love residents , I loved my job, loved helping management team. I was supervising household staffs and prepared roster. I loved my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Christchurch City, Canterbury17 March 2017
Good company to work
Free uniforms
Good fellow workers
Good and friendly management
Values and beliefs
Organised rooster
Good working hours
Flexible schedules
Pros
Free morning tea
Cons
Buzy
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kitchen assistance
kitchen hand (Current Employee) –  South Auckland, Auckland6 March 2017
experienced cashier, well-versed in money handling and the cash register.
experience care giver
friendly customer service assistance offering more then 7 years of retail and food service experience
Pros
nil
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff turnover is high
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Whakatane, Bay of Plenty23 February 2017
Skilled staff vs. Unskilled employees.
Measuring employee turnover can be helpful to employers that want to estimate the cost to hire for budget purpose.
Pros
Free tea, coffee or milo
Cons
Staff does double shifts often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good brand name
Temp Worker (Former Employee) –  various13 February 2017
Worked there as a casual/temp at various sites,
can be a dull company to work, as head office is off shore, each branch is different and kind of which branch is the best/worst sort off thing as each has own way of doing task.
So not like a closed in family like atmosphere as in a local private work place.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
low pay, off shore business
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed worklplace
Kitchen Hand (Former Employee) –  Manurewa, Auckland29 December 2016
Easy going job, very routine, not the most fun job but not the worst speaking a young persons perspective. I had a manager who respected requests when given fair reason or time.
Pros
Free Meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not an easy job but I've learned a lot from this job.
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Whangaparaoa, Auckland26 August 2016
Everyday is a busy day.Hard job but good management and friendly staff.Heavy patients that you need to cares but I love to give care to the elderly like my own grandparents.
Pros
happy workplace
Cons
short breaktimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 38NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Enrolled Nurse (Current Employee) –  Porirua, Wellington18 May 2016
Receive handover from previos shift. Medication distribution. Person centre care with fellow care givers. Enjoy to assist clients with ADL's and share abit of humour. Deterioration and end of life of our clients is hard. I have learned to except people as they are no matter what their culture and personallity is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bupa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,032 reviews
5272
4253
3254
284
1169

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture