Bupa Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search See all 1,281 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at bupa was great I loved the job. Management was very easy to communicate with
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thames, Waikato2 October 2019
My typical day at work was different daily learning new tasks, including meeting new people and I enjoyed the opportunity to Talk to residents getting to know them even helping them in times of need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training or career growth
Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Riccarton, Canterbury1 October 2019
No compensation for working overtime. High turnover rate. Poor work-life balance. Lack of training. Inflexible annual leave arrangement. No support for after work studies. Micromanaging in some teams. Choose your team carefully and wisely. 95% of the people are not great. Be aware of employees and managers who are rude and domineering. Flexible work arrangement should be given to employees who constantly have to work overtime or work at night to meet the business needs. Employees should be required to evaluate the performance of their managers quarterly and anonymously. talk to people and listen to them dont pretend that everything is great.
Pros
not at all
Cons
Management bullying, they want you to fail, Team coaches just as bad. Boring job. horrible working environment, Fail you on every opportunity, High school environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nighmare!!!! Go there at your own risk
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Rotorua, Bay of Plenty1 October 2019
Immature in technology even though its not a complex organisation. People are resistance to change. Capability gaps exists. Great people and some great leaders - just hope they're your leader. If they're not then it can be pretty awful. Also salaries are very much below average and the career progression is incredibly haphazard. 'Flexible' is lip service. In actuality, you may have a manager who tells you that you can't leave early to pick up your child and work the rest of the day from home and you'll have no recourse for this.
Be a bit more aware of some of the toxic leaders you seem to hold in such high regard while managing to discard some of the great ones who people look up to - and will follow. Does the place need a clean out? Yes. But you are also putting a lot of faith in leaders who are widely considered lazy, incompetent and even downright snakes while letting some fantastic ones who would attract the talent you need walk out the. Poor management, no team work, staff not sharing information, managers are not helpful they are just looking after themselves in order to keep their jobs. No clear direction, hard to talk to your manager they are always in meetings, if you enjoy working late till midnight this is the right place. Old systems in place massive use of excels for accounting ( like we are in still in the 90's) lack of investment in IT, too much politics, no empathy towards junior staff ( even told to do managers work), no proper accounting processes in place, little controls in place, too many meetings ( you have to have a meeting to have a meeting) and not
  more... enough meeting rooms, they talk about work life balance but it does not exits, too many managers.  less
Pros
nothing
Cons
Very political, particularly where some senior managers are concerned, Not enough is done to manage poor performance Reactive, rather than proactive attitudes, Lack of appreciation that we offer high cost, high value products- some of the services we offer do not match this, Lack of investment into technology Very silo’d working environment, Unfair pay structure HR are very unhelpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lessons from a bad experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manukau City, Auckland1 October 2019
As a typical UK company, new ideas are not so welcomed at Bupa. Decision making is a long process. Not much room left for the development of career planning. From my years of experience in the healthcare business I did not find any cons with this company. their salaries are very competitive. Tuition reimbursement minimum but it helps, company has partnership with private universities, offering reduced tuition which is a benefit.Lack of carers to care for vulnerable residents at home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wellington City, Wellington1 October 2019
Extremely poor HR department can't get anything right. Hires unqualified and inexperienced project managers as department managers. Directors of certain areas have non technical background but put in place to lead technical driven departments. Poor planning operates in constant reactive vs proactive mode. No clear vision on business...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a shame for humanity
Programme Manager (Former Employee) –  New Zealand16 September 2019
As the industry began to shrink, the politics at the senior leader level was becoming as competitive and toxic as I have ever seen. The power plays at a gender and functional level was untenable. long hours and overworked employees. Chronic under resourcing and inefficiencies mean long hours required
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked at Bupa full-time for more than a year
Accountant (Former Employee) –  New Zealand16 September 2019
Management bullying, they want you to fail. Team coaches just as bad. Boring job. horrible working environment. Fail you on every opportunity. HIgh school environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Sales (Former Employee) –  Aramoana16 September 2019
Extremely poor HR department can't get anything right. Hires unqualified and inexperienced project managers as department managers. Directors of certain areas have non technical background but put in place to lead technical driven departments. Poor planning operates in constant reactive vs proactive mode. No clear vision on business...
Pros
No pros
Cons
As the company moves through organizational change the ability
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bupa is very cheap Health insurance services provider, i experienced ever
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New Zealand10 September 2019
Bupa is always provide very notorious health insurance service to their customers. The customer services are also very cheap. Bupa is shame for humanity....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Housekeeper and Cleaner - Company (Former Employee) –  Queenstown, Otago21 February 2019
I just have to thank the Bupa managers for giving me the opportunity to work in this wonderful company. Everyone helped me a lot when I got here in New Zealand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
(Housekeeping) (more than (Former Employee) –  Waikanae, Wellington14 May 2018
Working is more strict based on the given tasks you are required to finish in 3-4 hours. You work alone but can interact with others during a break. Co-workers are friendly and always have smiling faces whenever you see them. Seniors are friendly and fun to talk to and will somehow lighten your day.
Pros
free lollies from elderly and food from company
Cons
Toilet cleaning
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  New zealand25 February 2018
Bupa took over from the company that ran the nursing home. This company made a lot Reductions to staff levels on takeover and this resulted in staff leaving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland27 January 2018
i have learned a lot of things from this job like teamwork, helping nature, and many more. the management is also good in Bupa. Nothing is hardest in this job. The most enjoyable part is to spend time with elders.
Pros
meals are offered to staff as well.
Cons
long hours shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basketball or any Activity
Rehabilitation Coach Assistant (Current Employee) –  Henderson, Auckland4 December 2017
Im currently working in BUPA rehab for 5years, Im looking for any position for aged care or disability support worker.

I love playing basketball or any activity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The resident's are loving people
Healthcare assistant (Former Employee) –  Manukau City, Auckland23 November 2017
The normal routine preparing meals and serving for dinnner. The elderly need assistants with all cares. The people with dementia need love and care time and patience does pay off.The management side do their best to ensure quality care is provided. The culture there is respected to all religion and backgrounds. The hardest challlenge was trying to keep everyone together, their were wanderers. There were always enjoyable times.
Pros
You can a break when there is time
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  New Plymouth, Taranaki9 November 2017
Love working for Bupa, Great environment. Management are lovely, the care staff are amzing, so many ways to upskill within the workplace. Great wrok perks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manurewa, Auckland28 October 2017
This position had no beneficial gains it was just a job that filled my time and space until I found something else and moved north. The days were not self forfilling or even positive or safety based for both the workers and the clients. I didn't enjoy or look forward to being on this team of persons.
Pros
nil
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for
Rest home caregiver and recreation officer (Former Employee) –  Telford New Plymouth22 October 2017
I only left Bupa due to buying my own business but am ready to go back into part time or casual work . I found Bupa a pleasant company to work for and managed to advance my training through them .
Pros
I love working with the elderly and Bupa has great ongoing training available
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Auckland24 August 2017
It was great working for Bupa, you form a firm relationship with both residents and staff. The only sad thing about working in a retirement home is you get very attached to the residents and it gets increasingly sad when they pass away
Pros
residents
Cons
residents
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with residents
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Beach Haven, Auckland18 July 2017
Had a good experience working at Bupa. Getting to know the residents was a challenge, the types of food they eat, what they prefer to wear before sleeping and waking up. Loved the residents.
Pros
Free lunches on tuesdays
Cons
Long hours with low rates
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bupa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,281 reviews
5337
4291
3293
2112
1248

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture