DoubleTree by Hilton Employee Reviews

Showing all 3,857 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place that ive ever worked for !
MAINTENANCE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  London6 October 2019
Doubletree by Hilton - Hyde Park

Low pay at £8.80 per hour. A 20 year old plus building that needs reurbishing as everything is breaking down. Poor management who drive the employees into the ground with pressured schedules and unfair deadlines. Severe technical issues especially with WiFi and A/C units. Lifts always breaking because they are so old.

But worse is the constant turnover of staff because nobody wants to stay in such an uncomfortable environment.
Anyone with good, exceptional Hotel experience should avoid this place at ALL costs. Just check their Trip Advisor and you will see for yourself.
The most toxic hotel I have ever worked at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a terrible place to work
Housekeeper and Laundry (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, AR4 October 2019
It's a terrible place to work management is horrible the housekeeping supervisor is not a leader human resource hiring people by favoritism in stead of skills there is kno chance for promotions and appreciation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DoubleTree was a very good place to work.They always did things for there employees to let them know they were appreciated .
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  1101 international dr3 October 2019
Double Tree was a very good place to work .They always did things for the employees to let them know they were appreciated .An it was a place where u were treated as team sometimes even like a big family.I enjoyed going to work there always was something new .You got to know some guest well especially those who were repeat guest it wasa very good place to work
.g
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Doorman (Current Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SC2 October 2019
Good job to work for and have great benefits and great managers that help you out with anything you need and are flexible with your schedule an overall all good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work at Doubletree Rochester NY
Manager (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NY2 October 2019
Hilton is a nice brand but the management company that runs the DoubleTree Rochester is not a hospitality company and have no connection to the hotel. Upper management is filled with inexperienced, innappropriate, harrasing individuals. The HR manager and GM are very petty and inexperienced, getting by on their lies and the good work of past employees. This hotel is not the place you want to work.
Pros
Hilton Brand, Guest
Cons
Harrasing and hostile environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work the hotel has a great community programs
Executive Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX1 October 2019
Doubletree was a great place to work all of the manager listen to team members and the morels was very high .I would recommend family and friends to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TN1 October 2019
this to me was a very hard and phsically demanding job. the pay isnt that great. and the long hrs suck however the boss was great i do still love her til this day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Employer
Supervisor Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Chicago, Illinois ( Mag Mile)1 October 2019
After working 6months I was involved in a car accident whereas for I was bed ridden for 4 months, once cleared by my doctors to return, the Company said my job was gone because I wasn’t Union. I didn’t even get a card from the company!
Pros
None
Cons
People
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama and favortism
Server (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, IN30 September 2019
First day i started i knew i wasnt welcomed, the head server had surgery and left the other new server there the next day to help me. The other server was cold towards me would not help. The tables that i would approch would be switched out of my name and into theirs. After about two weeks of my tables being taken and not getting paid anything like i was at my other job, i had to go back to my previous job.
Pros
Nice morning kitchen staff
Cons
Bad servers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain tons of customer service experience and get to meet plenty of people from around the world.
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJ30 September 2019
A typical day at work would usually consist of 140-160 check-ins apart from group check-in or events. Due to the location, it would get busy in a matter of minutes due to flight cancellations and events hosted nearby. Good for people with flexible availability since the schedules are never really set.
Pros
Free lunch, discounts on hotels
Cons
Very Busy, Agents have a lot on their plate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure
Catering Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Texas30 September 2019
Daily business review, business solicitation, maximize space, event management, customer care, employee mentoring, forecast, Trace management in SalesPro, Design Floor plans
Pros
Discount Lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Lead Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ30 September 2019
The Doubletree is a great place to work. I love my co workers and management.We get paid time off and the company shows their appreciation towards their employees. We get discounts with the company and hotels.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work.
Guest Services Agent & Acting Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT30 September 2019
Good place to work with supportive staff.Good place to work and enjoy meeting new people as part of front office.

Secure job.
Day to day learning
Lots of training related to customer service and a good HR support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal day at work
Housekeeping Manager (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire29 September 2019
Morning rota followed by a morning meeting with the staff. After 1h in this time checking some supervisors rooms, gowing to the hotel meeting (op). Checking the e mails and trainings for staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is fair for the job
Kitchen Supervisor/Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, IN29 September 2019
The banquet food is the worst i have ever seen and the food and beverage director is not open to ideas to fix it.
I was hired in to be a supervisor at 50 cents less per hour than i was told.

Nice place to work if can ignore the food quality and ignorance of the food and beverage director, in witch I (a classically trained chef) cannot.
Pros
Pay is good for people with less experience
Cons
Drama, no healthcare benifits and very poor food quality
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bar
admin / bar manager /bartender (Former Employee) –  Tigard, OR28 September 2019
Loved the guests , Co employees and hospitality.
Management at all levels do not care one bit about employees , cold and heartless. If you complain you get fired or pressured to quit.
Pros
Great customers and employees
Cons
Heartless management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad managers
Night Porter (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh28 September 2019
Management always find the worse way to treat the employees. Nobody cares for you, neither for the hotel. Almost All my colleagues planned to leave because of the management. Also they steal our tips, and they didn't gave us legal papers like p60, p45 and some times they didn't gave us even the payslips.

Night managers was the worse for me. They bullying me because of my accent. Sometimes even in front of guests! He treat me like I was stupid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this Job!
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Collinsville, IL28 September 2019
Great work envoirment with hard workers.Always willing to help you if your running behind on your rooms.They will make sure you have a nice lunch which is paid for by them daily.Flexiable hours and room to move up in the department
Pros
A company that cares about its workers
Cons
There elevator is always broke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place and feeling like home away from home
Bar Server/ Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Naples, FL27 September 2019
Rewarding place and feeling like home away from home . There a great work environment, everyone was friendly. Free meal a day for employees. Management was also plus to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Catering Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Times Square, NY27 September 2019
One of the best places I have worked with some of the nicest people.
Great management team, benefits and positive work culture. Broke my heart to leave.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Hotel closed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DoubleTree by Hilton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 3,857 reviews
51.4K
41.1K
3761
2270
1301

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture