DoubleTree by Hilton

DoubleTree by Hilton Employee Reviews for Chef

Found 38 reviews matching the search See all 4,190 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best and a great place for working
Demi Chef (Former Employee) –  sonaisali island fiji12 February 2020
a great place to work if you can cope up with the fast pace and pressure
the wage rate is not too much when compare to other resort in the near by area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical branded hotel
Chef (Former Employee) –  Southampton30 December 2019
Issues range from payroll staff (offsite) making mistakes, all non-management level staff have minimum wage, no matter what their position which causes discourse and a lack of incentive to perform. Constantly firefighting ridiculous issues and complaints that should never arise.
Staff turnover is very high so constantly training staff or relying on agency staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sue Chef (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GA6 December 2019
Nice people good money easy work they let you take off when you need to if you need more hours they will help you out like I work kitchen, house keeping, and drive the shuttle bus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Specific to Southampton
Chef (Former Employee) –  Southampton6 August 2019
Avoid this hotel if you value your physical and mental wellbeing.

The main issues stem from management, or more specifically, the GM. I cannot comprehend how this indidual remains in his position of power. Every department in the hotel suffers from a lack of staff, training and funding. It is no surprise that the HoD in almost every respective area has left the company over the past 6 months - the turnover rate in hotels is understandable, but every employee seems to present the same reasons for leaving... *cough* GM *cough*

The staff work hours to suit the business, and are required to use holiday when requested (i.e. Mid-Jan/Feb). Funnily enough, the GM reserves his holiday to use during all of Xmas and new year (I mean, he does work the hardest, right?). One member of f+b decided he would work ridiculous hours to support the hotel, and was offered (by two HoD) free stays overnight, inbetween shifts. Payday arrives, £138 is removed from his wages for the room charge - I wonder who did this? Providing consistent, reliable hard work will land you nowhere, as most staff end up working with responsibilities far too great for what they are credited for.

Also, everything that is promised will never be implemented. You're attempting to work to the brand standard, without the necessary tools and equipment. Problems may be raised and a promises are made to silence you - solutions involve spending money, which the annual £1m+ profit apparently cannot handle! This results in an evident substandard level of service, which can't be avoided, and is overall embarrassing for the
  more... staff. There is no budget for staff food, so your "free meal on shift" is, erm, ever so slightly repetitive. The ceiling in the kitchen literally falls through, and has been leaking for years; obviously renovation is too expensive, again (health and safety?). Oh and f+b were told, by someone, to serve 6 month out of date beverages to guests.

To top it off, the GM took four weeks worth of rotas. Four people, including myself, had worked here for over a year and all coincidentally decided to leave within a week of one another. Each of us were underpaid in a range from £400 to over £1000. I cannot be certain of the cause, but somebody does like to keep payroll to a minimum! Overall, you may be able to gain decent experience here, in the sense that you learn to adapt to adverse conditions, but you will ultimately lose the will to work (breaking point being the GM attempting to belittle and bully).
  less
Pros
Experience
Cons
Hours, Gm, Health and safety standards, Staff food +99 more
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Apprentice Commis Chef (Current Employee) –  Brigg, Lincolnshire14 May 2019
A typical day at work includes preparing and plating different lunches, such as finger buffets, conference lunches and even packed lunches for customers to take away. You definitely need to be organised and ready for any obstacles that are thrown your way.

The management of different departments are smoothly run, whether it be the Kitchen, Food & Beverage or even Golf Department. Everybody works together to make the day easier for everyone.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty kitchen, disgusting- Harrisonburg Virginia
Chef (Former Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VA20 April 2019
They still owe me over 30 hours, have not received the pay.
Im going to fill with labor bord, also USDA.
ITS NOT A CLEAN KITCHEN, I GOT E COLI.
WALK IN COOLERS HAVE SLIMY BUILD UP.
Ovens are dirty, half equipment does not work.
Disgusting place to work, would never eat there
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Chef (Former Employee) –  South Portland, ME30 March 2019
Management was awful. Huge turnover. Awful work environment. I was harassed by the GM. I would not recommend this place to anyone. There is a reason why they are constantly hiring- people don't like working in a hostile environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Commis chef (Former Employee) –  Doha, QA3 March 2019
Eavrything good I like the brand of Hilton hotel in future if I get good position I will go back to work again i allwoyas love my preview workplace doubletree by Hilton old town Doha
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive place
Chef (Former Employee) –  Cobb County, GA21 February 2019
We worked together for the best and we had a good working relationship with each other as co-workers there was never any problems at the workplace and great employees
Pros
Good hospitality
Cons
Nothing bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job. Poorly managed
Chef/Cook (Former Employee) –  Florida11 December 2018
Easy Job. Poorly managed. Lack of advancement opportunities. Benefits are okay I guess. Overall it's a pretty laid-back environment. Too laid back in most areas. Management is not very responsive to complaints of harassment and unfair treatment. Easy job if you just need something until another better opportunity comes along.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Challenging work places environment.
Commis Chef (Current Employee) –  Johor Bahru9 October 2018
Doubletree by Hilton JB is the famous company or hotel in worldwide with a brands of Hilton. I had learn knowledge in Pastry Kitchen with the right methods.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty cool folks to work with
PM Chef (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD6 October 2018
Just do you job to the best of your ability.. If you need help just ask.. Pretty friendly work place... I'd go back and work for hilton any time i loved that job
Pros
Very relaxing job
Cons
You have to pay out of pocket for benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Chef (Current Employee) –  Andover, MA22 August 2018
They don’t take care of their employees. I wish they could use my skills with what I went to school for but they didn’t let me apply it . The pay is not good due to the amount of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work team
Chef (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA15 August 2018
the company real professional, good management , relation between employer and employee real like family, they are gain hired family, we are real good team work, creative in menu, employee good pretention will had promotion
Pros
free lunch/ dinner
Cons
busies when had catering or event
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career
Chef (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA5 August 2018
Great food, people, awesome management. Human resources good team players I loved the employees training and orientation it was easily handled and thought out and fun
Pros
Evrything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress enviornment
Restaurant Chef (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IA12 February 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job was when I got to meet the clientele. There were few occasions where I was requested to personally design a menu or perform a demonstration for guests. The personal touch always made things more valuable to me. Most days would be working in the kitchen for long hours making up for lack of staff.
Pros
Insurance benefits, Pto, hotel discount
Cons
Inefficient hiring process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was what you call a dream job
Chef (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FL28 January 2018
from a person in my book to just walk in and started from the bottom and make my way to the top I love this company and if I was to move back to florida I would try my hardest to get back with the company
Pros
free lunch
Cons
good break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an ideal environment for those wishing to uphold a healthy work to social life balance
Commis chef (Current Employee) –  Dartford4 January 2018
Although there are benefits a certain extent and a possible chance to progress this isn't guaranteed and can be a major con when weighing up options to stay in this particular hotel
Pros
free lunch
Cons
MUST be flexible, must be willing to work overtime, bank holidays, festive holidays, weekends etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sanitation Issues
Chef's Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KS26 December 2017
I learned a lot while working there and was able to become a better chef. The Executive Chef was usually pleasant to work with. Sanitation and quality lacked due to trying to achieve a profit and poor management oversight.
Pros
Freedom to due one's job without micromanagement.
Cons
Poor management oversight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Creative Workplace
Lead Chef (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FL23 October 2017
Decent corporate job that is a great teaching platform for new culinary graduates. I have learned many new things in my time there, and strive to learn something new every day and make a difference.
Pros
Free Meal, Good benefits
Cons
Lack of career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DoubleTree by Hilton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,190 reviews
51.5K
41.2K
3801
2305
1372

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture