DoubleTree by Hilton

DoubleTree by Hilton Employee Reviews for Executive Chef

Found 35 reviews matching the search See all 4,102 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KS5 December 2019
Hilton has good standards for operation and customer satisfaction. However, my property was managed by an independent corporation that out it's own goals before employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hotel closing
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TN20 November 2019
It was fun wild it lasted the hotel will be closing in Feb 2020 for revations
so it no going to be open for long so any job offer is only for couple months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
crazy place mangement team unorganized
Executive Chef/Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  South Portland, ME12 September 2019
my 90 review was stella but general manager fired me 3 days before christmas for no real reason. brought all financials in line but still because i interviewed for another hotel he fired me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VA4 September 2019
accesses the needs of the hotel for the day. how to maintain a steady food cost. Great friendships but at times extremely long hours. Work place is enjoyable.
Pros
great work family, seeing the success and growth of the department, learning how to build upon my skils for futher advancement.
Cons
sometimes put in close to and over 80hrs. a week, Often no time for my own life for a low salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was originally well run and managed
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VA26 June 2019
Was a great fun place to work and then the GM relocated and the new GM did not believe in teamwork or taking care of the employees or guests. Was the place to do your banquets until the change in management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned much about Hilton and its history
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  Overland Park, KS13 June 2019
Great people to work with is a fun and exciting atmosphere. The employees are very friendly and the staff is willing to help each other as much as needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Executive Chef & Director of F & B (Former Employee) –  Carson, CA10 March 2019
Start my Day at 6 am to make sure we are prepared for Breakfast
then i have a daily meeting with my staff
make sure everyone follow the sanitation guidelines
then we get ready for all the banquets
the hardest part of this job NONE because we all have fun working
Pros
very dedicated people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefit with lot of opportunity
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA2 March 2019
Great place to work, strong team. It was my first Exec Chef position and i was able to learn the basic of my new role. the entire team was engaged and working there was fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  2515 meridian parkway Durham NC 2771316 February 2019
20 years at this location, new ownership changed atmosphere, needed a new work environment, I would love to have a new place to call home, cooking is a passion and I believe in being dedicated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Was good
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SC27 November 2018
At the hotel I had good and bad experiences the cookies they give you are amazing and the staff is very friendly. The food was great especially the shrimp and grits and the bartenders were nice.

It is hard to fine good cooks, and the unoces that are good don't last. The equipment is old don't woark all the time. Two years waitting for new equipment and never got it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy hotel
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CA18 September 2018
Busy place to work. Occupancy stays high throughout the year. Breakfast is extremely busy doing from 200-400 covers a day. Banquets and catering stays busy as well with a lot of group business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memberikan kinerja dan fasilitas uang baik
Executive chef / catering (Current Employee) –  Jakarta5 September 2018
Berikan semangat karyawan pasilitas kerja yang sesuai skill
Pros
Asuransi dan gajih mencukupi keluarga
Cons
Komunikasi antar department
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
EXECUTIVE CHEF (Current Employee) –  Kenner, LA28 April 2018
....its an ok place to work, as long as you stay to yourself and don't try to do anything outside to change what has been going on there for 20 years. They don't like change.
Pros
..hours
Cons
..hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, beautiful hotel.
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TX9 December 2017
In starting, I had experienced three kitchen inspections in my first three weeks of employment ranging from the Bexar County Health Department as well as quality control teams from the corporate headquarters.
I inherited a filthy kitchen and had to work very hard to bring the cleanliness and sanitation up to company standards.
It was hard work but I managed to get great scores per the inspections.
Pros
Nice, professional people to work with.
Cons
Lack of enough staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NY28 July 2017
Good place to work. Good Management Team, Lot of room for advancement. Constantly growing company, that like to retain good long term employees. Good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very Manage Hotel
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA29 April 2017
A very busy and productive property with large banquet and catering facility. Very organized with all line team members and management team including sales team. Very diverse team and well enjoyed working with including management team and various departments.
Orchestrating multiple task for individual for a large volume was a big learning factor.
Doing large volume was challenging but rewarding at the end of the day.
Pros
Great environment and great team to be with on a daily bases
Cons
Not enough storage spaces for a large banquet events
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places I have ever work
USA Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Carson, CA29 April 2017
Worked with a great team from all areas of the department including management departments. Great diversity and a fun environment.
Lack on some of equipment in banquet but management to pull thru by other means,
Great environment where I am so happy to go to work on a daily bases.
Pros
Great Property with great team and management.
Cons
Certain equipment needed updating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume environment
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CA16 March 2017
Fast paced environment with many outlets giving you plenty of opportunity for growth.

Lunch room provided with daily employee meals. Diverse workplace and easy going management.

Able to talk to any upper management with concerns and problems you may encounter.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe and Productive
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  New York, NY26 February 2017
Safe and productive workplace the hours worked balanced with the daily activities. upper Management always there to lend a hand when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CA28 January 2017
Good place to work easy to move up,good people, people take pride in what they do. Good place to start your career and eat to transfer to other hotels.great benifts
Pros
Corp owned
Cons
Union
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DoubleTree by Hilton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,102 reviews
51.5K
41.2K
3789
2300
1349

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture