DoubleTree by Hilton

DoubleTree by Hilton Employee Reviews for Prep Cook

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 4,207 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Prep Cook/Chef Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PA24 January 2020
Basically the work culture their is put all the work on one person. also they do lot of illegal stuff like bypassing health and cleaning up the kitchen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Prep and Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NY14 May 2019
Lots of oppritunity to gain expeince. They gave you lots of chances to grow and also helped you to succeed. The boss was strict but professional and always talked highly of us.
Pros
free food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly environment
Baker/prep cook (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FL13 July 2018
excellent breakfast bar and while working there I learned to be a excellent Baker as well as Prep cook the management was great I would love to work there again
Pros
breakfast bar
Cons
the hours it stay open
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love cooking but if you dont know your stuff youre in for a ride.
Banquet Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CA25 October 2017
I'm a hard worker but I feel it's hard to work around people that gossip about me from the first day and not come to me when they have something to say or let me know where I can help and how I can improve.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Not good pay, no real training, just do what you think you can do while they harass you all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place.
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZ20 September 2017
I asked for unpaid time off and was giving the run around by higher management. It was time for a change. Other than that i really enjoyed working for the Double Tree.
Pros
Nice co- workers. Was abel to be come with my own daily specials . learned a lot.
Cons
There was not any, other then me not being abel to take a trip with my family that we had been planing for a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun happy environment
Banquet prep cook (Current Employee) –  Reading, PA9 September 2017
i love working at the double tree. it is a fun fast paced environment to work in and is always busy. they are focused on guest happiness but never forget the needs of the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment.
Prep. Cook (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FL8 August 2017
I was there for a short time but enjoyed my short stay. Working in any kitchen is hard work and this place was no different. I was prepping food for multiple venues and If I fell behind things fell apart. This wan't the case often though. I was able to successfully supply the cooks with everything they needed. The hours were crazy and very late. overall not a bad place to work though.
Pros
fast paced, challenging and cool place to work.
Cons
late hours, high risk(working with raw foods) and strict uniform policies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
doubleTree
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NE27 December 2016
DoubleTree was probably one of my favorite jobs because i could usually do my own thing in ther kitchen preparing the buffet in the mornings and evenings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Prep/Line Cook, Pizza Cook (Former Employee) –  Cocoa Beach, FL28 December 2013
Management was horrible. Executive chef was well knowledgeable but the management of the hotel was horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working here
prep. cook (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CA12 June 2013
Very fast paced environment. Great personnel in all departments of the hotel. Majority of the employees tend to get along...at least while i was there. Over all great place to work at, i would recommend a few people here.
Pros
job has benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more DoubleTree by Hilton reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DoubleTree by Hilton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,207 reviews
51.5K
41.2K
3803
2306
1377

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture