Emergent Biosolutions Employee Reviews

Showing all 94 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Senior External Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MI15 November 2019
This company supports Family work life balance. Upper management supports employees growth and development at all levels of the company, Low stress environment and positive Culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking, competitive.
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MI14 November 2019
Emergent is a very hard and physical demanding job, you should always be open and involve yourself in activities. After recent decline in testing it was a lot more complex, and management took a downfall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow, but be patient.
Microbiologist / Specialist I, QC Microbiology (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MI6 November 2019
It was a fast paced, execting environment with enough mentors and walking examples that can show you the culture and expectations. Upper mgmt were as transparent as they could reasonably be, and held regular meetings to explain the plans and and finiancial goals regularly. Much was expected at times but was a human place to work with some flexibility. The best part of the job was knowing your work could preserve life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn a lot
Pharmaceutical manufacturing lab associates (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MI24 October 2019
Overall my personal experience has been pretty good. I work with a decent group of individuals, i have a flexible schedule, on site gym, security, cafeteria, and management tries to be accommodating. Its not perfect but i have been to worse.
Cons
HR could be more efficient
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Specialist 1, QC Microbiology (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MI18 July 2019
Got opportunity to purchase new state of the art equipment and validate and implement for routine use. It is good to work for Emergent. I was given the opportunity to set up lab for MicroCount equipment for microbial count and ID.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Contractor
Document Specialist (Contract) (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD21 May 2019
When you working with company as a contractor-you are exactly that "A Contractor" when the contract ends, that is when your search for a stable position begins. -CONTRACT WORK WITH THIS COMPANY IS "NOT" GUARANTEED!! In short-Contractors are not hired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forget having a life
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MD18 April 2019
This place will burn you out quickly. If the long hours and weekends don't kill you the lack of appreciation will. Look elsewhere!

The company promises good "culture" and benefits such as Friday hours but the majority of the employees in my department (the ones that actually work) never get to enjoy many benefits.

Management promotes idiots who have no prior experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn and grow
unspecified (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD18 March 2019
fast paced, always challenging. Some great people, moving towards matrix business unit structure which makes roles and responsibilities murky at times. Get to wear a ton of hats and learn on multiple fronts of business if motivated.
Pros
good culture, strong mission, successful M&A/integration strategy
Cons
sometimes unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace and management
Final inspecting/ Packaging (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD25 February 2019
The work environment is toxic, poor management. There is no room for advancement. Long hours most of the time you could be just sitting around waiting for work.
Pros
Hour lunch
Cons
Poor management, favoritism, a lot of down time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to learn and growth this isn’t the place for you.
Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MD22 February 2019
There is no room for growth, this place works well with underachievers. You literally have to have no ambition to work here. Strong minded individuals run away they do not like a challenge or to be held accountable for their actions or lack of actions. Leaders are in position that should never be put into that position. Favoritism is a trend with this company, if they like you you’ll be fine if not well goodbye. Stay away from this place it’s a real nightmare. I am warning you please use caution so many people have left and or quit. No real structure or organization. They come to work just to sit and watch videos on YouTube and look at clothes online. The managers do not check on you at all. There is no structure or guaidance.
Cons
Stressful, underpaid, favoritism, lack of work, lack of growth, lack of stability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Materials Technician (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MI6 February 2019
When I started at Emergent it was a relaxed fun place to work, WE worked diligently and effectively . As the company grow the morale would take a hit now and then. Management styles changed some to the good some to the bad
Pros
Benefits, vacation time
Cons
over-stressed at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Management
Assistant Inspection & Packing Technician (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD10 January 2019
Terrible place to work. Management loves favoritism. It's like high school all over again except with a bunch of idiots. Extremely unorganized working with different clients for medicine being delivered. Lazy people in terrible positions. Control obsessed with people in control. Terrible shifts not flexible. If you start out as a temp good luck working your way up! Run far away! Worst place I've ever worked!!
Pros
Free lunch, paid training, Pto
Cons
High school drama, hours suck, terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this place
employee (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MD28 December 2018
If you are really interested in finding an innovative place to work, stay away from Emergent BioSolutions. They talk about innovation, but there is only talk. Nothing innovative is done by the company. There is no thinking, they are not interested in anything new, leaders have no idea what they are doing and no real experience, people promoted based on they ability to praise the management
Pros
pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tragic
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD21 December 2018
pay very little, very unorganized, managers frantinize with employees. i learned nothing they dont let you promote to other departments, they dont help you get certified to be able to promote
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exelent
CONTRACT CLOSE OUT/BILLING SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MD1 November 2018
it was pleasure woking there. i have learnt alot. the manager and the employees and the company was excellent. i mis everybody so much i would mind going back to work. it was temporary and i had to leave the country
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GA24 October 2018
I have never worked for Emergent Biosolutions instead I provided services to Emergent, Inc. Emergent Inc is a great company with great benefits. I would hight recommend employment with Emergent, Inc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Production Associate (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MS18 August 2018
Just apply and give it a try for your self. I can give you my opinion, and it be a total different experience for someone else. Management is good and production is the most important thing.
Pros
The boss is very understanding
Cons
It can get frustrating
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Senior Manager / Assoc. Director (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MD17 August 2018
Excellent environment with excellent co-workers. Team work was promoted. Gaithersburg is a great city to work in. Good bonus and general pay scale. I will recommend Emergent to friends
Pros
Excellent health care benefits; excellent work environment; great job and excellent people
Cons
limited opportunities for promotion in my area
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company with great employees. Very collaborative environment within each departments.
QUALITY DOCUMENTATION ASSISTANT TECH (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MI19 July 2018
Management was open to new ideas. Workplace culture was friendly and inviting. I learned how the quality department function and the importance of accurate documentation and time management of task.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Engineering & Validation Intern (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MI6 July 2018
I enjoy my time at Emergent BioSolutions. High paced work environment. Given many opportunities to learn new skills. Hours are fairly flexible. Some positions are more difficult than others and present unique challenges.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
High-Paced Work Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Emergent Biosolutions. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 94 reviews
520
433
319
28
114

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture