Farmers Trading Company Employee Reviews

Found 62 reviews matching the search See all 69 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, Tasman9 December 2019
varies from day to day
enhances customer service, cash handling etc
stressful because we are often under staffed
when fitting room is full and there is only 1 staff to attend to customers
break time when 1 is able to relax for awhile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable to start with. The longer I worked there, the worse it got. 16yrs took a huge toll on my mental health due to a few members of Mng
Store Receiver/Admin Asst (Former Employee) –  North Shore, Auckland4 November 2019
Staff are nice people to work with, however, the Minority of Management just ruined my whole experience. After 16yrs, there was no respect for my knowledge. The Company taught me a lot, which all went down the tubes because of a few members of management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Had Awesome Experience in Farmers Trading Company working 5yrs
Clarins Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland13 October 2019
I Have loved my time working in Special Eye consultant for 2yrs and promoted to work Clarins Counter Manager .I am really proud of my successful events and meeting sales target that our store one of the top ten Sales for Clarins.With the support of our Cosmetic Manager and Store Manager. But time has changed to leaved company because
i have job offer Clarins Melbourne .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an amazing experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wellington, Wellington24 September 2019
Farmers has taught me a lot of things. Consistency and paying attention to detail are one of the most important things I have learned there.

Management there is very friendly and effective. Manager are always ready to help you with any customer difficulties. Plus once you have reached store target you get many benefits reached
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Farmers is not the same as before back then was much enjoyable
Farmers customer service (Former Employee) –  Manukau City, Auckland12 September 2019
Being with the company so many years they never promote you to any positions but they hired people from overseas there is no such thing work from ground up anymore our hours been cut down still fighting for leaving wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When the going is good it's really good but when it's bad well it's really bad, don't even think about climbing the ladder. Ain't going to happen
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Te Rapa, Waikato1 August 2019
No appreciation for team no recognition for anyone and a hole lot of terribly handled situations that could have easily been avoided. Not good enough to be a manager but good enough to train all the new ones hired externally. Too many secrets and when you find out it's most likely no longer relevant as yet another policy has been handed down to contradict 5 other core policies that had no relevance either. Some really awesome people yet the good ones are always expected to do more and the slackers are just left to their own devices
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be an awesome, family orientated and fun place to work.
Store Receiver/ Administrator (Former Employee) –  Glenfield, Auckland10 June 2019
FTC seems to have lost it's way recently ( 2 - 5 yrs). Training for new, existing employees and Management is extremely poor. Everything is focused on sales, and staff's state of mind/health & feelings are not a priority.
Pros
None
Cons
Lack of Training for new, existing & Management Team Members
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical big retail company
Merchandise Planner- Girlswear (Current Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland3 May 2019
Great work/life balance
Not looking to update or advance any initiatives or processes/systems like most major retailers... stuck in their old ways
Management is great and will support you in all decisions
Development of skills is not a strong suit of Farmers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great family owned business to work.
Server & Desktop Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Auckland - New Zealand28 February 2019
A great place to work, good working culture, great people that make it a fun place to work.
There are some days that can be very hectic but overall there's a good work balance and team support.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family orientated company to work for
Temporary Customs Administrator (Current Employee) –  East Auckland, Auckland20 February 2019
Awesome atmosphere with friendly knowledgeable people to learn from.
As mentioned, a very family orientated company being a family store.
Great product with new fashion and styles coming through all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff Family Values
Sales and service assistant (Former Employee) –  Whangarei, Northland2 February 2019
A typical day at work would involve lots of customer service and tidying the shop. I learned lots about products and management were very friendly and understanding of everyone's needs. The culture of the workplace was very family-like and everyone felt at home. The hardest part of the job was trying to stay productive so most of the shift would be very long. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the satisfaction of the customer when you genuinely help them find what they are in need of and giving them a pleasant experience.
Pros
Nice workmates, staff discount
Cons
Minimum Pay, Not very productive
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I want to work in any way
Farm Hand (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland12 December 2018
I have sent many requests for work in this field and always repeat it because I love this work and I love migration and know new traditions and other bans
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Sales and Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Panama Botany Down Centre27 November 2018
Farmers Trading Company is more like a family environment to work at. Customer Service is highly recommended in the industry and have a reliable system for training and also team have the ability to progress to different role

Management are very supportive of their team and be the service for the team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful and bullying by manager, some staff and loss prevention officers.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pukekohe, Auckland24 November 2018
has a bullying mentality overall.
Most enjoyable serving customers.
Management don't communicate with each other or staff.
Lots of heath and safety issues.
I learned not to work for Farmers.
Pros
Some staff were friendly. nice staff room.
Cons
no discussion or meetings concerning extra hours, bullying culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
One on One customer service (Former Employee) –  Rotorua, Bay of Plenty18 July 2018
Honesty, Trust, integrity, enjoying dealing with customers. Caring for the needs of the customers. Respect for customers. Approach
customers with a smile.
Pros
Certificate Awards for preformance
Cons
No cons to report. Very pleasenant company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and warm
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland24 June 2018
They are great! Everyone is helpful and friendly, and they work hard to care for staff and customers. Every time you need help, you can count on management and other team members to help you.
Pros
There are days where there are rewards for employees who have provided exceptional customer service
Cons
Short staffed often, but manageable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great start up job, easy to learn and enjoyable environment
Sales and Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chartwell, Waikato10 April 2018
A typical day involved serving customers and answering customer enquiries. I learned a lot about dealing with complaints and keeping a level head under pressure. My best part of the day was getting a genuine thank you or smile from happy and satisfied customers. The worst part was not being able to cater to a customers needs or request or getting really rude customers
Pros
Extra five minutes break plus the shared lunches
Cons
Not being able to score extra hours if you were not quick enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace.
Sales Person (Former Employee) –  Tauranga, Bay of Plenty8 April 2018
Keeping the areas clean and tidy is very important. Keeping busy is important. Speaking with different people on a daily basis was an interesting part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Pakuranga, Auckland6 March 2018
Knew everyone that worked at Farmers so I got along with them easily. Was a good environment to be in. No negative things that happened. Had to leave due to school starting back up but over all i liked it very much.
Pros
Getting to know the staff a bit more.
Cons
Was only on school Holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasure to work for
Sales and Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Masterton, Wellington6 February 2018
Had a great experience with Farmers Trading Company Masterton - the management and staff are all friendly and helpful, and I always felt I was in a beneficial and positive workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Farmers Trading Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 69 reviews
524
423
314
23
15

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture