Geneva Healthcare Employee Reviews

Found 43 reviews matching the search See all 50 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Home Helper (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui9 February 2019
I enjoyed going into clients homes and interacting with them. I learned new skills, the management was helpful when I needed their help. If I went into maori homes I always took my shoe off as I knew that was their culture.
Pros
Meeting new clients
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Credit Controller (Current Employee) –  Mount Wellington, Auckland28 January 2019
My typical day at work is being on the phone most of the day taking inbound calls and making to outbound calls.
Ive learned how to work with people from different walks of life and different cultural backgrounds
The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that i can assist people everyday with there accounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
FINANCIAL ACCOUNTANT (Current Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland21 November 2018
This was a great opportunity & privilege to upskill my accounting knowledge while taking on new tasks. The company is conveniently situated. The culture is competitive between departments and can be stressful at times which I feel works against rather than for the company. The hardest part of my job is the high staff turnover. I feel this wastes a lot of time to continuously re-train new staff and adds extra stress to meet deadlines.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and no emphasis on wellness in the workplace
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Head office16 November 2018
The only positives I can think of is the free fruit they provide weekly and the decent colleagues you bond with quickly as you go through many hard times together. Low wages and unmanageble workloads. Expectation to work overtime with no pay. Stressful work environment with unsupportive management. Some managers don't even have a healthcare background and it sure shows in their lack of empathy. Witnessed many staff have emotional breakdowns in the head office. There is no emphasis on wellbeing in the workplace. Expect to have at least one mental breakdown if you work in the headoffice.
Pros
Free fruit, decent work colleagues who you bond with quickly as you go through many hard times together, and cultural diversity at work
Cons
Unsupportive management, no emphasis on wellbeing in the workplace, low salary but unmanageable workloads, overwhelming stress, expectation to work overtime with no pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geneva health care
HOME CARE SUPPORT WORKER (Current Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland22 July 2018
well reputed company with a high pay rate and other benefits.
geneva help me to develop my self and I got different experience with working with different patients at different environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Home Support worker (Casual) (Current Employee) –  North Shore, Auckland27 June 2018
I learned how to treat clients with respect and learn about the fact that all clients are different. Workplace culture in Geneva is great and it provides balance for me. The hardest part of my job is when the time taken to drive to another clients home is very short. the most enjoyable part is attending to patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good to work for
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Taranaki2 March 2018
Good to work for as it allows to set your own hours and can be tailored to ones personal life.

Allows one to get experience in many different rest homes and experience in different situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, meet different people which I enjoy very much
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland1 March 2018
I learned alot from my job, I really enjoyed working with different client every day. The hardest part of the job is to say goodbye to a client because either they don't need any more help or moving to another place or provider. The most enjoyable is meeting different clients and able to help them out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working just part a time
Health Care/Aged Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Auckland NZ4 February 2018
I was employed on an on call basis and my primary responsibilities were.

assistance with patients needs
showering patients
dressing patients
assisting with meals
maintaining a hygienic enviroment
ensuring all floors and surfaces are kept clean


The hardest part of the job was spending 1 hour driving to work so 2 hours per day on the road

The most enjoyable aspect of the job was contact with patients and assisting them with their day to day needs


The workplace culture was mixed as it catered for aged care residents and hospital patients.
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always plenty of shifts available
Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Christchurch, Canterbury31 January 2018
Sometimes given wrong information eg number of clients living in a house, types of behaviour, number of staff but this is probably due to details not being updated regularly by the client to Geneva.

On a number of occasions I was put in physical danger due to staff shortages and clients being dangerous in their 'challenging behaviour' which was not adequately portrayed when booking shifts and I sustained physical injury from clients requiring medical treatment e.g chiropractic treatment, physiotherapy.
Pros
Always plenty of shifts
Cons
Lack of information
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui18 December 2017
Sometimes busy and many shifts. It is good for gaining experience in healthcare field while you are studying. However, the management team are not quite profesional performance.
Pros
Clear job describtion
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized
Self Employed (Current Employee) –  Nelson South, Nelson8 December 2017
Very efficient and well organized company
Very good education advancement company
Very fair wage rate
Lovely staff to deal with
Provide sleepover pay rates
Pros
efficient administration
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profession attributes effective with promoting personal skills.
Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Whangarei, Northland28 November 2017
Partner, and participation stated in the Treaty of Waitangi was not adhered too with the management of this company.
Client and staff speaking one language.
Pros
your own times and days rostered
Cons
Hours limited overall location
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Auckland, Auckland16 July 2017
Loved being part of the team, worked as a beureau so i was working everywhere in auckland, good work and also love working for geneva, they gave me shifts to suit my flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Auckland17 June 2017
friendly management. wonderful agency to work for. an opportunity to travel and gain experiences at lots of aged care places. lots to learn from and very challenging to work n-in new places especially on your first day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and cons
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Dunedin, Otago23 May 2017
Typical day of work in the community consisted of 3-4 clients a day for 2-3 hours each.
I received training from fellow support workers when starting with a new client. I had enough training to feel confident working by myself. I did not receive much training from Geneva other than online readings.
There is very little communication between management and support workers. I found this very irritating and felt like they were not listening to my concerns or complaints. I felt like I had no support from Geneva.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Homecare support worker (Former Employee) –  Auckland9 March 2017
Stress-free
multicultural environment
good management
friendly co-ordinators
training
skill development
regular lectures
workshops
basic life support training
Pros
pays for gas, travel allowance
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well organised and productive environment
Healthcare Assistant (HCA) (Former Employee) –  Auckland13 February 2017
Geneva provided me with a good support for working as a health care environment. they gave me reasonable working hours and salaries, which I am very satisfied with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Auckland, Auckland23 January 2017
busy day many clients with a number of different needs to be met.
learnt to time manage very well. Management should be a lot better with communication but managed to learn to cope with lack of job descriptions on a daily basis. the hardest part of job was going in blind to clients homes without an insight to their needs.
I loved my job meeting new people and making their day just a little better in such a small way at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was hard, cleaning peoples houses. Staff were nice
Homecare Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Auckland, Auckland22 January 2017
Was only a temporary casual position cleaning clients homes. Worked on my own and did not see any other staff other than office staff. The pay was low and had to do alot of travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Geneva Healthcare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 50 reviews
516
418
39
24
13

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture