Harvey Norman Management reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 363 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monotonous and death by a thousand cuts
Electrical Salesperson (Former Employee) –  New Zealand4 March 2018
I've been at a few stores over 15 years.
Starting in the early 2000's when an Electrical salesperson was getting their 10% share of healthy profits, and able to establish an income of 65-100k+ if you've got the goods and work hard.
Since those year head office found every way to destroy the income and moral of all salespeople.
Using (increasing rebates) behind the cost, whereas the salespeople only have their 10% commision at the front-end which the carve up for you.
Payrises are always met with "sell more" despite you working your butt off.
Red tape making the job painful as possible.
GM (who gets paid a multi-million dollar salary) and other head office staff make more and more while we rot.
Feedback is "NOT" appreciated either constructive or blunt.
The best salespeople are gone or just broken, with exception of a few plodders.
Many great people have worked the and still do but many have been broken along the way, tread carefully.

Oh and forget your weekends, they're not yours anymore
Pros
Ok money if you workhard and have thick skin
Cons
Soul crushing
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Proprietor/Accounts Administrator - Temp (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland15 January 2018
Nice experience overall,
Good Job work/life balance,
Good Salary/Benefits,
Can not comment on Job Security as I was a Temp there,
God Management,
Good Job culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its was a great place to and the people were fun
Storeman (Former Employee) –  Porirua, Wellington4 January 2017
it was a great team environment and the management team was always there to give you a helping hand it was a hands on training but there is always someone there to help you
Pros
shared lunches, team building every friday
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much pressure from the proprietor
Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Auckland, Auckland4 November 2016
a typical day at work was fun,to fulfil the needs and wants of the
customers,with full of enthusiasm.

I learned that,like always that come customers first.

management is an imbalanced management

my co-workers always snatched and encroached on the customers
that I was serving.

the proprietor never respected right or wrong

the most enjoyable part of the job was that when I served the
customers,they always came back to me,and recommended their
family members,relatives and friends,always.
Pros
No free lunches
Cons
Long hours which I can handle
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Team, Brilliant Culture
Small Appliances and Cashier, Casual (Current Employee) –  Tauranga11 August 2015
Absolutely loved working here, went through a management change and that shifted the culture of the store which was disappointing.

Best part was the busy atmosphere. There was never a dull moment, especially weekends. Everyone worked as a team, most of the time.

Hardest part was the change in management which caused a high staff turnover.

Too much change effected the working environment in a negative manner
Pros
Work hard, played harder!
Cons
Too much change effected the working environment in a negative manner
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative, lively and friendly environment
Full-time salesperson (Former Employee) –  Palmerston North26 February 2015
A typical day starts off early at 8 30 am with team meeting and review of the previous day.
It is then followed by setting of goals for the day .
Usually the days are really busy with customer flow.

I have learned various things through my experience my harvey norman. Values of customer service, building rapport and ways of closing deals.

The management of the company is smooth and the coworkers are really friendly and supportive.

The hardest part of the job was to balance my personal life due to long hours at work.

the most enjoyable part of the job would have been talking and interacting with customers the whole day and achieving goals that were set in the morning meetings.
Pros
work on commission plus hourly basis.
Cons
less days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Storeman (Former Employee) –  Mount Wellington, N26 May 2014
typical day one word FUN
management role plus honest person towards others
management is to be fair with the staff you work with.
not being at work was the hardest to know i have a rostered day off to go back and redo the work from the day before.
to go home knowing you worked well for the company.
Pros
work mates
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and socialable work environment
Personal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Auckland, N2 April 2014
Great team and management to work for.
Unfortunatley got made redundant from role due to restructure and cost cutting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, team spirit, and culture.
Regional Administration Manager (Current Employee) –  Christchurch, S6 February 2014
I am responsible for the effective management of the administration departments for the 10 south island stores. Accountable to the National Operations Manager and the GM of Finance and Accounting.
Pros
great team culture
Cons
Long hours, extensive travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report

See more Harvey Norman reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harvey Norman. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 363 reviews
5101
4124
381
234
123

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture