KinderCare Education Employee Reviews

Showing all 651 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career
Assistant Teacher (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VA22 August 2019
I work with great people! I’m pretty sure I just got lucky with this specific center but I’m glad to work at KinderCare. I’ve never before gotten along with ALL my co workers and this is because of communication which is very big here. They actually take time to help new comers and welcome them. The parents are involved and all the teachers look out for each other it’s great when everyone comes together. I’ve learned so much and it’s good for career advancement if you’re looking for a profession with children. My director has helped me with different training classes and certifications plus credits toward my degree. I don’t see myself leaving anytime soon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and learning environment
Lead teacher (Former Employee) –  Tinley Park, IL21 August 2019
It was a good place to work especially if you are just getting started in early childhood education. You are held responsible from day one which gives you a sense of pride. I enjoyed most of my fellow co workers. The school was clean and bright and the outside play area was large and had a lot for the kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
each center is different
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  NY20 August 2019
High turnover. Uncaring upper management. Unrealistic expectations. However, if the director and teachers at your center are good, the experience can be ok for a time.
Pros
working with children
Cons
stressful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying it
Assistant Teacher (Current Employee) –  Schaumburg, IL18 August 2019
Over all experience is very Nice. Staff and management is pretty good. Loved working with kids and got great help and support from teachers and Staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Lead Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CT18 August 2019
Low pay, little appreciation, constant turnover with staff and management. Very stressful with impossible expectations for everyone. Easy to follow curriculum
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much other stuff to do besides teach. No feedback from management.
Assistant Teacher, KinderCare, Soapstone Rd (Former Employee) –  Reston, VA17 August 2019
Enjoyed working there at first, but it became obvious that budget cuts were coming. AD made sure we were all out at our scheduled time, but they didn't have a cleaning service and teachers were supposed to fit in chores before they left including cleaning bathrooms, vacuuming and cleaning hallways. Lunch hours were then extended to 1-1/2 hour, basically leaving no time to teach yet we were expected to fit in curriculum. I was the last one hired. They made up an excuse out of the blue to fire me because I was "disrespectful to the kids". They told me they had observed me - NOT. I asked for those records and they wouldn't show me. Parents loved me. I constantly heard other teachers yelling at kids, but I only did when needed. I was also thrown into the role of co-teacher instead of asst. and wasn't reimbursed for that. The principal never came to me to talk about any issues. I never met the dm, who was there to fire me for reasons she had not seen. Found out she was later fired as well. I complained to HR. The rep never returned my calls. When she finally did, she said the accusations were founded. I have since moved on to another preschool with rave reviews. I DO NOT recommend KinderCare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of responsibility for litte pay.
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Ca14 August 2019
The company does not care about its employees nor the children in the centers. Its main focus is making money regardless of the effect on its employees and students. Center management isn't much better, the focus is all about numbers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environmnet
Lead Teacher (Former Employee) –  Washington Township, NJ14 August 2019
At KinderCare there are many families that you can connect with to help build a great relationship with them and provide a great experience for them and their children
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kinder care
Kinder care (Former Employee) –  Orem, UT14 August 2019
It’s a good job for those who is best working with kids I have babysat Prior to this job but I am more of a customer service person I love kids but I love more interaction with adults
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Regional Facilities Manager (Current Employee) –  Portland, OR11 August 2019
Benefits are high and no upward growth. looking for advancement. Wishing for opportunities and nothing is being offered. Company concerned with hourly employee engagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t recommend it !
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Piscataway, NJ11 August 2019
Management sucks. . Doesn’t pay you enough for all the stress . I would not recommend KinderCare at Piscataway. The turn over rate in staff is ridiculous. Management talks down on you like you’re 2 years old. DON’T RECOMMEND WORKING HERE
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, Great Kids
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Redwood City, CA8 August 2019
I was only at KinderCare for 2.5 weeks because my experience was so horrible. I was never welcomed or trained, just thrown in to the center not knowing what was expected of me. I was hired as a preschool teacher but actually placed on center support duty never knowing what room or even age of children I would be working with each day. Of course I was offended at my placement when I had been promised something else. I had also been promised a raise 8 weeks after starting because I would be taking lessons to become fully qualified. It turned out that the school didn't start for two months afterward, meaning my raise would be 4 months out. The classrooms are constantly out of ratio, and I was sometimes left alone or told to bring children places even while I was non-FQ (I know I'm a good person and trustworthy, but that doesn't change the fact I was not fully qualified and neither are some other teachers). I met several teachers who made me ashamed to be at this center because I believed they were either uninterested in their job or plain unsafe for the kids to be around. I brought this to the attention of the admin team twice in my first week and upon seeing no action (and speaking with other teachers who said they had also complained months ago with no action) I decided to leave the facility. I will not learn from and stoop to the bad behaviors shown to me in only the first week of being at KinderCare in Redwood City - bad language, rough handling of children, general disinterest, shirking duties, hiding in classrooms during outside play time for 30+ minutes, etc. This location  more... is understaffed because the management of the core team is nonexistent. I was told that one classroom had had 8 different teachers in 7 months. That is not a healthy and nurturing environment for kids to grow up in. The administration team is so focused on the center's outward appearance (to the families who enroll) that they give up valuable attention and resources that could help their employees. I believe they should focus on training their teachers first, making sure that each classroom is ready to handle the day to day and is safe for children before looking at the parents. If the teachers know what to do and do it well then the kids are happy. If the kids are happy then the parents are happy.

I loved the kids and I worry for them spending their time at that center. I was scared to leave them but ultimately had to put myself in a better place. The teachers there should not have to put up with mediocrity, they have the available resources from a big chain like KinderCare and should be able to be trained and get new materials in their classrooms when needed.
  less
Pros
Kids are amazing, 2 ten minute breaks plus hour lunch
Cons
Management, low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Covington kindercare
CO Teacher (Former Employee) –  Covington, WA7 August 2019
The Covington kindercare was amazing I had the best boss I have ever worked for and I loved all of my co-workers like family. If I ever move back I will go back to work for them. Covington kindercare in Washington state
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, Ran like a highschool!!
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OK2 August 2019
The office is like a click of mean girls who play favorites, didn't take work or love for children serious. No curriculum work was applied at the center I worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great placeto work with children and families
ASST. DIRECTOR (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, CA29 July 2019
Working at kinder care was a great place to work. I enjoyed working with the children and the families on a daily basis. The children were the greatest part of the job, watching them learn and grow every day was an absolute enjoyment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family like work environment!
Center Director (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, CO27 July 2019
Great organization to work for! Curriculum is easy for teachers to implement, and children are growing and thriving. The Kindercare App is truly life changing!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor quality child care under the guise of quality.
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Westminster, CO25 July 2019
There are a lot of nice sounding words about individualizing the experience, letting children discover,etc., but the real emphasis is on having the exact number of children allowed per teacher even if it means switching children from room to room with no other reason and making sure the children line up to come in, go thorough check in procedures, then go inside and repeat the practice before being told exactly what to do despite their personal interest or preferences. Problem children are catered to to keep the peace and teachers are not allowed to address concerns with parents. This makes for a certain amount of chaos and yelling at the children. There is large staff turnover when they get tired of not being heard or supported.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Daycare Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Phoenixville, PAPhoenixville25 July 2019
I loved working there and I had fun at my job. I always got excited to go to work. I always got excited to go to work. At work at made friends and I felt like work was my second family. Also, working with the kids was fun and a wonderful Pearians to watch them grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Toddler Lead Teacher (Current Employee) –  TriBeCa, NY25 July 2019
Out of all the centers I’ve worked in. This is the best . They have plenty of benefits and actually treat you with respect and allow you to create your classroom. They are flexible as long as you give them notice within a reasonable amount of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job
PreK teacher Floater (Former Employee) –  Omaha Regency, NE25 July 2019
The culture amongst the staff was Fantastic! We worked collaboratively to ensure children were provided quality care during the day.
In addition, we had the best curriculum, trainings, and professional development. I enjoyed building relationships with parents.
The upkeep of the facility is also pleasing. Staff have high morale and overall it is a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at KinderCare Education. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 651 reviews
5103
4125
3131
2100
1192

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.7Culture