Manukau Institute of Technology Employee Reviews

Showing all 38 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different atmosphere everyday at the workplace
Peer Mentor/ Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Otara, Auckland22 March 2016
I meet new students every time (day & week).
I learnt to communicate effectively with students and trying to create a positive relationships with them.
I always manage my time with student especially when I have time to help them with their academic problems.
I always trust my co-workers and I instructed them clearly before we start the work.
There was no hard part of the job except the language barrier but I can manage it.
I love working with different people because I learn something from them.
Pros
free lunches most times.
Cons
Short hours of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Internship from Finance Department (Former Employee) –  Otara, Auckland2 March 2016
It is my own business. I learned so many things while doing my own business I learned about how to attract customers and give them good quality of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall is nice
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Auckland, Auckland21 February 2016
The people is extremely friendly, nice environment with high-tech implement.

Less supervisor to teacher, so I did not feel extra stress to teach student.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Local student do not care about attendance in the class
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MIT was my first New Zealand employer where i observed work-culture, learnt & adopt administrative operations of an educational institution.
Casual Student Guide and Admin Support (Former Employee) –  Manukau City, Auckland22 November 2015
At Faculty of Business & IT (MIT), i was exposed to blend of New Zealand work-culture, morals & ethical values, rational decision-making, along with life-long skills and kiwi colloquialisms. With cooperative and dedicated admin team of MIT, i never missed my family, involved with diverse admin general and challenging tasks which improved my overall personality.
Pros
Polite and cooperative staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
President (Former Employee) –  Manukau3 September 2015
non for profit.
what i learned was always keep an open mind.
co-workers very helpful and supportive in all areas.
most enjoyable part was working together as a team
Pros
free lunch and hanging out with all memberss
Cons
long meeting hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A gateway for starting a new beginning
Student Ambassador/Leader (Former Employee) –  Manukau Auckland30 June 2015
My time at Manukau Institute of Technology has been the best time of my life. I would recommend to anyone to start a new future with MIT, where you know you are more than just a number. Lecturers will call you by name, and remember your face in a crowd. It's a place where you can learn all the basics; and you can use those lessons to build upon the rest of your future.
Pros
Casual Work
Cons
Net enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Internship (Former Employee) –  manukau30 June 2015
The management was very supportive and learnt more about Procurement as my Project was based on Procurement. It gave me experience in both number and theory of procurement auditing. It was a good experience in internship.
Pros
Coffee and Bread for breakfast
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Foundation Studies29 June 2015
This was more of a slow pace job that involved a lot of thinking. It wasn't that fun but the people were amazing and lovely. Got free lunches.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manukau Institute of Technology
Student (Former Employee) –  Auckland, New Zealand12 May 2015
I learnt how to do Decimal and Place Value
Time and 24 hour Time
Problem Solving
Percentages
Fractions
and also i learn the reasons of Health and Wellbeing for Adults and young children and Personal and Family Relationships
Pros
I had to take my own lunch in
Cons
Long hours and days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tertiary
Tertiary (Current Employee) –  Tertiary17 November 2014
definitely work based and treated like we were working here. time management is most Important and attendance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and makes me feel welcome
M.I.,T Guide (Former Employee) –  Auckland, New Zealand23 October 2014
Working with different people from different culture's is so hard but I can manage to communicate and respect them . Employee are so lovely, friendly and also kindness its only that but their smiley faces and the way they treat me makes me feel welcome
Pros
both job they offer me free lunch every time i work
Cons
I work only 8 hrs but if they need overtime I can able to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People to work with.
Nursery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Auckland, N6 October 2014
I worked experienced people who new how to do the jobs they did.
Pros
Nice enviroment to work in.
Cons
Not enough hours of work for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A collegial workplace
Subject librarian (Current Employee) –  Otara, Auckland28 March 2014
A typical day at work involves helping students and staff get the most out of library resources - both print and electronic. There is also the associated admin work.
Guiding students to IT solutions is an increasingly enjoyable aspect of my day.
I particularly enjoy the challenge of matching people up with resources - and helping them succeed as students in a vibrant tertiary environment.
Pros
Plenty of opportunity for professional development
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, productive
Student Ambassador and Administrator (Former Employee) –  Auckland, N7 October 2013
Every day was busy and fun, I learnt how to interact with different people being confident in talking, learnt what Manukau Institute of Technology was about, I learned how to file and file on the computer and I learnt how to work as a team.

Management was wonderful they kept everyone up to date on work and what was changing, they made sure all the staff was happy and well supported.

My co-workers were lovely very supportive and helpful, when advice was given it helped if there was a problem.

The hardest part of the Job was constantly being on the phone.

Most enjoyable part of the job was to work with different people every day, work with different cultures and meet new people.
Pros
Finishing early, free brunches and goodies pack
Cons
Reasonable long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy!
General Hand / Operator (Former Employee) –  Eltham - TARANAKI18 September 2013
Hard to follow night shifts - midnight to eight

Organizing and guiding teams (myself)

Management was poor (health and safety regulations)

I did enjoy meeting new people and communicated well with others
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
work experience (Former Employee) –  Auckland, N17 September 2013
its very challenging but as a student i have always worked efficiently and with honesty.
i have always helped my tutors in any kind of work at the institute.my tutors are very trust worthy because they always helped me when i was in need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Casual Receptionist (Former Employee) –  North Campus, Otara13 March 2013
Working at MIT as a casual receptionist. I enjoyed working in the front line, helping and assisting the students and staff in the office. I love completing set tasks and working along side the administrator.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Manukau Institute of Technology. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 38 reviews
526
42
39
21
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture

Manukau Institute of Technology Reviews by Location