Michael Hill Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 166 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michael Hill
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Christchurch, New Zealand31 May 2019
Worked with customers that came in. Cleaned jewelry. Did inventory every Monday.
Learned a really great selling culture.
Management was great.
Everyone I worked with was lovely.
The hardest part was standing all day.
The most enjoyable was giving people a dream piece of jewelry
Pros
Working with jewelry every day
Cons
Standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fun everyday different
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Tauranga, Bay of Plenty19 March 2019
Another wonderful company to work for,always fun incentives put in place daily,weekly,monthly.A fun team just an enjoyable place to work.The training was amazing always looked after.
Pros
Incentives all the time
Cons
There wasn’t any
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding environment
Sales Professional (Former Employee) –  Hornby, Christchurch4 October 2016
I loved selling jewellery but the demands are great with this company and a lot of people don't handle the pressure and you have to work with people who can't handle that targets must be met.

I thrived in this environment and loved the job. Found the distraction with co-workers who couldn't handle the pressure a bit much.

You are expected to gold star each week if possible and expected to keep top performance going.

Could never get a holiday. I went between 2 or 3 shops at times and worked with very sick people as they came to work.

The need for sales targets makes some sales people do very unprofessional things. I worked up to 54 hours going into the second week sometimes without a day off.
Cons
huge hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michael Hill Jewellers
Sales Professional (Current Employee) –  Pakuranga Plaza8 January 2016
-Enriching experience each day
-To work with speed and deliver accuracy
-Employee Friendly management
-Helpful co-workers
-Interact with different set of customers was the most enjoyed part of the job
Pros
worked with a leading International Brand
Cons
It was a casual job
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People
Frontline Sales Person (Former Employee) –  Upper Hutt, N18 October 2014
My day was as a frontline sales person where i would interact daily with people coming in, I found work quite repetitive here as they are very set in their ways and in their approached, this stop them interacting with customers in making them feel welcoming nor open and genuine. I hence stuck to just being me and using my personality when customers came into the store and it showed in my sales, as always reaching targets. The most enjoyable part of my job would be the people, you met such a different array of customers, it makes your job interesting and enjoyable.
Pros
The People
Cons
Management inconsistanceys
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy myexperience working here
Manager in Training (Current Employee) –  Blenheim19 September 2014
I loved training the staff. I also love making the customer feel like a million dollars whether they were buying a silver bracelet or an expensive diamond ring. The hardest part of the job is leaving! The most enjoyable part is taking part in memories for people that will last the rest of their lives.
Pros
Sparkly Jewellery, who wuldnt love that every day?!
Cons
Can be hard on your feet on a long day, 10-12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and opportunity for progression
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Masterton New Zealand23 March 2014
A typical day be ready to sell!
Approach essential to successfully selling.
Management very professional.
Co workers very determined.
Hardest part Targets.
Most enjoyable was selling and customer service.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 32Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work with customers
Sales Professional (Former Employee) –  New Plymouth, N30 May 2013
My first day I began training with our managers on how to approach people, how to upsel products, the importance of up selling and selling the product with value. hardest part of the job was competitive work colleagues. I enjoyed this position because I got to work well with customers, assist them customers with what they want and seeing them leave the store with a great feeling.
Pros
Christmas get togethers
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report

See more Michael Hill reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Michael Hill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 166 reviews
549
442
335
220
120

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture