New World

New World Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 41 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Victoria park Auckland20 January 2020
Love working at new world . it was good experience for me . I was always keen for new role at job . Staff is so good . Everyone's works as team never had any problem
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but poor rewards for promotion
Checkout Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Christchurch, Canterbury5 December 2019
Lower management are outstanding. Upper management expect far more than the varying pay grade between stores may be worth.

With licences, a ranking role, H&S cert... expect at most .50c over minimum. Barely enough to cover the extra unpaid time you will do (as pay is divided into 1/4 chunks)

Different owners dictate this pay differently. Expect the newer stores to have the worst pay of the lot. (CHCH)

When upper management is gone the mood is relaxed. Otherwise it is tense and customers feel this.


Overall a great summer job. Good hour variability. In no way should you expect more than that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warming atmosphere and outgoing people
Checkout Operator, Lotto Retailer, Barista (Former Employee) –  Kumeu, Auckland14 August 2019
great friendly staff , easy workloads regardless of area . uptodate training given with on going training . understanding and warming crews. leadership is good and runs smoothly.
Pros
happy go lucky atmosphere
Cons
long hours grumpy customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
super easy and fun
Checkout -Part time as a student (Former Employee) –  Tauranga, Bay of Plenty9 October 2018
work was always fast paced and fun. I had the privilege of having some authority = moved around places to help when needed. good chatting to customers
Pros
great team
Cons
some customers attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Seafood Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wellington City, Wellington3 February 2018
I learned how to be more time efficient, how to multi task better and how to prioritise work tasks. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with a diverse customer base, who made my day go by super fast.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Service Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tokoroa, Waikato31 August 2017
Working with a great team whom were friendly and witty, I learned a lot from all of the team and had a great compassionate manager, the hardest part of the job was at time had family issues but work was a priority and the most enjoyable was the team.
Pros
end of year rewards
Cons
not being home for a wayward teenager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Pastry Baker (Former Employee) –  Waikanae Wellington, New Zealand26 June 2017
I like all the companies that i worked for, i found new friends, i learned new ideas in baking and new design for cakes. And the management is awesome!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new world deli assistant
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rolleston, S2 October 2014
I worked at new world for 3 days and on those days I got to prepare food and serve customers
Pros
very welecoming
Cons
had to keep asking for new tasks to do throughout the day once i finished one
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Grocery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Auckland NZ11 July 2014
This is the supermarket. It is one of the leading company in NZ.
I have learnt how to play the important role in team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People very pleasent to work with
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Warkworth New Zealand30 April 2014
Very friendly staff to work with and very clean.

My work involved checking bags and looking out for shop lifters and meeting and greeting customers.
Pros
Ten minute tea break every two hours free coffee and tea
Cons
long hour plus week ends and bank holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Grocery Assistant (Full time) (Former Employee) –  Auckland (New Zealand)8 April 2014
That was the good company to work with. i have learnt a lot in that company by working with the multicultural people.
Pros
appriciation after doing something good
Cons
less timings
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filled time
Part-time Feb (Former Employee) –  New Zealand4 September 2013
Very long hours. No chairs, had to stand at checkout all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant management and excellent work environment
Produce Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Nelson, New Zealand7 November 2012
Working at New World was a good job. The staff was friendly and helpful. They appreciate hard workers, and the management was the best i have worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report

See more New World reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New World. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 41 reviews
516
412
39
23
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture