New Zealand Police Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search See all 47 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Family Violence Victim Advocate (Current Employee) –  Otahuhu Auckland Police25 October 2019
Such a good environment - if you've found a good team.
Currently I am really enjoying working here very family orientated and family focused. Very good place to learn in and get educated on what's out there for family violence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy work environment with fantastic & focussed professionals
Emergency Call Communicator (Former Employee) –  Auckland, New Zealand3 February 2019
A typical day as an emergency call communicator would involve receiving emergency & traffic complaint calls from the public.
You learned to be patient while trying to help the caller & you also learned to ensure that you communicate effectively not only over the phone to the callers but also to & with your work colleagues.
A strong & successful workplace requires a fully supportive management team which was what we had at Police Northcomms (based in Auckland.)
The workplace culture was vibrant & diverse with many people of different ethnic backgrounds working at Northcomms. You were constantly encouraged to treat everyone with respect regardless of their race, gender, sexuality etc which
The hardest part of the job was learning to deal with different scenarios which weren't covered in training.
The best part of the job was knowing that you contributed to trying to help a member of the public with their predicament, successfully or not & the thanks you receive for the work the organisation does as a whole.
Pros
Helping members of the community
Cons
Having to work different rosters
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting the Public
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Wellington area23 July 2018
Great job satisfaction in assisting the general public and making the community a safer place to live in. Learned all facets of criminal law, and maintaining the law and order under some difficult circumstances.
Pros
Job Satisfaction and learning avenues
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team spirit for a worthy cause
Sworn Officer of the New Zealand Police (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, Waikato18 July 2018
NZ Police helped me mature as a professional and learn how to overcome difficulties. They were a benevolent employee and a fine organisation to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work where everyone is greatly appreciated.
Station Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Porirua Police Station18 July 2018
I thoroughly enjoy working for N. Z Police, everyday brings new challenges. The most enjoyable part of the job is being appreciated for hard days work
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Not too bad a place to work. Stress levels are high, culture is good. Looking to make New Zealand the safest country in 2021. Building relationships with everyone in the country and wanting to build trust and confidence
Pros
Good culture
Cons
Stress levels high
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to help people and integrate them into the community
CSW (Former Employee) –  Manukau City, Auckland19 April 2018
visiting service users in their residential addresses, helping with day to day needs, planning with them towards recovery and ensuring they are self medicated .
Pros
great to help people
Cons
lack of funds to do more to help
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Document Manager Center New Zealand Police
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wellington City, Wellington4 April 2018
I enjoyed working for the New Zealand Police because the staff and team leader was friendly helpful and kind to me. I would of love to been the permanently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
SERVICE DESK ANALYST (CONTRACTOR) (Former Employee) –  New Zealand4 February 2018
Was a very fast paced and exciting role to be a part of, something different happened each day which made it a good team to be a part of. The best part of the job was starting and finishing early
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright.
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Whangaparaoa, Auckland3 February 2018
Management team could have done more to take care of their workers.
CEO changed a lot over the years that I worked there and they all often had different idea's about where they wanted to take the company which resulted in the workers suffering.
Pros
close to home
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job on occasion
Jailer/Exhibits Clerk (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland17 January 2018
Most days were stressful and difficult. When the right people were on shift they made the job alot easier because you had the listening ear to discuss things with
Pros
Bonding with collegues
Cons
Shiftwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
My role was to destroy all the old paper files and make them all electronic using a program on the computer. I really enjoyed my time while on the temp contract, i kept to myself and if the opportunity came up again i would 100% take it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Browns Bay, Auckland9 November 2017
Police stations great place to clean
However the police was not my employer Spotless Services was
Pleasant staff
Very busy did not have time to chat
Had short time to clean all areas
Nothing further
Pros
lovely people
Cons
sometimes very dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very badly run organisation
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Timaru, Canterbury1 November 2017
Senior officers and systems were a joke. practicle policeman got burnt out while the people promoted were useless and are still in the job doing as little as they did then.
Pros
time off
Cons
fellow staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely well managed and productive emergency environment
Police Communications Call Handler (Former Employee) –  Christchurch City, Canterbury3 October 2017
Quality place to work, I only left due to having Childcare issues at that particular time.
When I was ready to return to full time employment, police Comms weren't advertising.
I thought ambulance Comms would be similar enough to work and enjoy.
Pros
Very professional, supportive environment
Cons
Hours not as attractive as ambulance or fire
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable
Relief Typist (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty5 August 2017
Happy work place with open spaces, friendly people and the work was very interesting and easy to pick up. Management had an open door policy which made it feel welcoming.
Pros
Good equipment, Staff were great.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
File Management Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Hastings, Hawke's Bay28 June 2017
The ground workers are fantastic. Its a very fun place with a lot of very caring people.
The job is interesting and varied and there are lots of different fields to work in.
Pros
A big family
Cons
Expectations are ridiculous
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strict and well mannered working place
Trainee Intelligence Officer (Former Employee) –  Rarotonga, Cook Islands6 June 2017
Each day is different you must not expect each day to be the same. I enjoyed working each day knowing that I was safe, but the hardest part about each day is ensuring that I did my part in helping our officers make the public/community feel safe. Each person i worked with everyday had their own uniqueness which made each day a good day and very much enjoyable to be at work everyday.
Pros
Free lunches at times
Cons
Long hours, unexpected shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job with exciting opportunities and work variety
Police Officer (Constable and Sergeant) (Current Employee) –  Timaru, Canterbury15 February 2017
Dealing with a variety of incidents from minor matters to serious situations that will always have you on your toes and provide opportunities to develop a variety of skills.
Policing is about dealing with people in a fair and honest manner, being able to walk in their shoes and deal with them with dignity and respect. Treat people as you would expect to be treated and remember you are often judged on first impressions.
The work place culture is excellent with great team bonding and lifelong friendships. You rely on each other to support one another and get the job done effectively.
The hardest part of the job is facing the fact that you bare dealing with people's lives. Every contact you have with them could effect their life. Death and dealing with victims can be very difficult but very rewarding when you are able to make a difference to their lives.
The job is rewarding and exciting with no two days being the same. The variety of work and the camaraderie experienced is enjoyable.
Pros
Good salary and benefits, opportunities for promotion especially in larger centres
Cons
Stressful situations that might not suit everyone, conflict
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Varied Work Place
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Wellington City New Zealand22 January 2017
New Zealand Police is a fantastic organisation to work for. there is always room for growth, training opportunity's. It provides an encouraging, interesting and varied work environment. No two days are the same. Better work stories.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Zealand Police. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 47 reviews
516
419
39
22
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture