New Zealand Police Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team spirit for a worthy cause
Sworn Officer of the New Zealand Police (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, Waikato18 July 2018
NZ Police helped me mature as a professional and learn how to overcome difficulties. They were a benevolent employee and a fine organisation to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Administration Officer - Strategy Department (Current Employee) –  Wellington City, Wellington24 April 2018
Not too bad a place to work. Stress levels are high, culture is good. Looking to make New Zealand the safest country in 2021. Building relationships with everyone in the country and wanting to build trust and confidence
Pros
Good culture
Cons
Stress levels high
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to help people and integrate them into the community
CSW (Former Employee) –  Manukau City, Auckland19 April 2018
visiting service users in their residential addresses, helping with day to day needs, planning with them towards recovery and ensuring they are self medicated .
Pros
great to help people
Cons
lack of funds to do more to help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Document Manager Center New Zealand Police
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wellington City, Wellington4 April 2018
I enjoyed working for the New Zealand Police because the staff and team leader was friendly helpful and kind to me. I would of love to been the permanently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
SERVICE DESK ANALYST (CONTRACTOR) (Former Employee) –  New Zealand4 February 2018
Was a very fast paced and exciting role to be a part of, something different happened each day which made it a good team to be a part of. The best part of the job was starting and finishing early
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright.
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Whangaparaoa, Auckland3 February 2018
Management team could have done more to take care of their workers.
CEO changed a lot over the years that I worked there and they all often had different idea's about where they wanted to take the company which resulted in the workers suffering.
Pros
close to home
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job on occasion
Jailer/Exhibits Clerk (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland17 January 2018
Most days were stressful and difficult. When the right people were on shift they made the job alot easier because you had the listening ear to discuss things with
Pros
Bonding with collegues
Cons
Shiftwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
File Management Support Officer - Temp Contract (Former Employee) –  Wellington City, Wellington2 December 2017
My role was to destroy all the old paper files and make them all electronic using a program on the computer. I really enjoyed my time while on the temp contract, i kept to myself and if the opportunity came up again i would 100% take it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Browns Bay, Auckland9 November 2017
Police stations great place to clean
However the police was not my employer Spotless Services was
Pleasant staff
Very busy did not have time to chat
Had short time to clean all areas
Nothing further
Pros
lovely people
Cons
sometimes very dirty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very badly run organisation
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Timaru, Canterbury1 November 2017
Senior officers and systems were a joke. practicle policeman got burnt out while the people promoted were useless and are still in the job doing as little as they did then.
Pros
time off
Cons
fellow staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely well managed and productive emergency environment
Police Communications Call Handler (Former Employee) –  Christchurch City, Canterbury3 October 2017
Quality place to work, I only left due to having Childcare issues at that particular time.
When I was ready to return to full time employment, police Comms weren't advertising.
I thought ambulance Comms would be similar enough to work and enjoy.
Pros
Very professional, supportive environment
Cons
Hours not as attractive as ambulance or fire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable
Relief Typist (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty5 August 2017
Happy work place with open spaces, friendly people and the work was very interesting and easy to pick up. Management had an open door policy which made it feel welcoming.
Pros
Good equipment, Staff were great.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
File Management Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Hastings, Hawke's Bay28 June 2017
The ground workers are fantastic. Its a very fun place with a lot of very caring people.
The job is interesting and varied and there are lots of different fields to work in.
Pros
A big family
Cons
Expectations are ridiculous
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strict and well mannered working place
Trainee Intelligence Officer (Former Employee) –  Rarotonga, Cook Islands6 June 2017
Each day is different you must not expect each day to be the same. I enjoyed working each day knowing that I was safe, but the hardest part about each day is ensuring that I did my part in helping our officers make the public/community feel safe. Each person i worked with everyday had their own uniqueness which made each day a good day and very much enjoyable to be at work everyday.
Pros
Free lunches at times
Cons
Long hours, unexpected shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job with exciting opportunities and work variety
Police Officer (Constable and Sergeant) (Current Employee) –  Timaru, Canterbury15 February 2017
Dealing with a variety of incidents from minor matters to serious situations that will always have you on your toes and provide opportunities to develop a variety of skills.
Policing is about dealing with people in a fair and honest manner, being able to walk in their shoes and deal with them with dignity and respect. Treat people as you would expect to be treated and remember you are often judged on first impressions.
The work place culture is excellent with great team bonding and lifelong friendships. You rely on each other to support one another and get the job done effectively.
The hardest part of the job is facing the fact that you bare dealing with people's lives. Every contact you have with them could effect their life. Death and dealing with victims can be very difficult but very rewarding when you are able to make a difference to their lives.
The job is rewarding and exciting with no two days being the same. The variety of work and the camaraderie experienced is enjoyable.
Pros
Good salary and benefits, opportunities for promotion especially in larger centres
Cons
Stressful situations that might not suit everyone, conflict
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Varied Work Place
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Wellington City New Zealand22 January 2017
New Zealand Police is a fantastic organisation to work for. there is always room for growth, training opportunity's. It provides an encouraging, interesting and varied work environment. No two days are the same. Better work stories.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and cultural
Volunteering (Former Employee) –  Manukau City, Auckland27 November 2016
Although i wasnt getting paid for working as their receptionist. I thoroughly enjoyed volunteering there. I got the job through a police officer who looked after our school. Everyone was so welcoming and you can imagine working under the same roof as 50 plus police officers, they were really chilled and easy to talk to.
Pros
free food
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexibility
Senior Constable (Former Employee) –  Christchurch, Canterbury4 July 2016
Within the NZ Police you needed the ability to be flexible. This related to the way you approached situations, the process you used to resolve said situations and the likely outcomes.

No two situations you went to no matter how similar were ever resolved in the same way.

I found this to be a challenging and awarding aspect of the job as it keep you thinking on the run so to speak and always improving your mental, emotional, verbal skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety and continuous self development
Police officer (Former Employee) –  Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui16 May 2016
Policing is a job full of the unknown and unexpected so trust and respect of co workers is paramount.
Knowing Management is supportive, fair, consistent and there.
The biggest teaching from the job are developing relationships through clear and honest communication, on the job during the job and outside of the job.
Communication, trust, honesty, variety and learning
Pros
Communication, trust, honesty, variety and learning
Cons
Effects on person relationships
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be very hazardous environment extremely busy
Motorways Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Ellerslie New Zealand20 April 2016
Dealing with incidents, accidents hazardous material left on the motorways.
Customer care enquiries dealing with the public, emergency services, traffic management operations.
Co workers most were hard working others very lazy not wanting to be accountable.
Hardest part was working and dealing with drunk drivers who cause accidents and deaths on the roads.
Pros
company car
Cons
long hours not always recognised by management
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Zealand Police. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 41 reviews
512
417
39
22
11

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture