Rio Tinto Employee Reviews

Showing all 746 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon salaire.
Superviseur production (Former Employee) –  La Baie, QC19 January 2020
La sécurité au travail est très importante. Doit être dévoué. Très bon salaire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the company i thought would take care of safety.
OPERATOR TRAINER ACCESSOR (Former Employee) –  Tom Price WA18 January 2020
Excessively bad culture in view of trainers not being thought of highly enough and there overall opinions not being taken notice of. Candidates beung pushed through at an irresponsible pace and pushing safety aside.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 12 years of work
The company culture is very positive. Be prepared for changes. Things are what you put into at this company. Lots of opportunities and new challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started as a Great company to work for ,in the end not so much
Mobile Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Silvergrass,Brockman 4,Yandi6 January 2020
Started with pre shift meeting ,What your role was for the shift,When i started at silvergrass management was awesome ,The management was changed and thing when down hill.
People will do anything to get ahead because of lack of self conference
Playing the blame game
Technology
Pros
Goog technology, Good roster
Cons
Management, Management, Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Underground Miner (Current Employee) –  Northwest Territories4 January 2020
If this is a review working at rio tinto. It’s a great place to work overall in any department. Anyone who wants to work underground, it’s good place to start
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for them for 11 years drove forklifts and attended pots to make aluminium
Pot rooms attendant (Former Employee) –  Bellbay1 January 2020
Worked there for eleven years travelling forty five kilometres each day have now moved to mannum dont mind travelling if i get the job hope to hear from you soon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Mobile Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Tom Price WA1 January 2020
Good but more training should be giving on board and not just left within the purple circle
Treat all equal and by time spent employed by Rio Tinto directly
Pros
Good money
Cons
Need to change all rosters to even time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Industrial environment for IT work
System Administrator (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UT25 December 2019
This is not a desk job, you are going to be on-site, in a mine, and looking like a highlighter in a hard hat while you are installing servers. Management cares about your work, your success and your advancement however IT does not have many open opportunities.
Pros
free lunches sometimes, Great people, healthy work life balance, Insurance Options
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the job.
Predictive Maintenance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UT23 December 2019
Current position has no advancement potential and HR activities have been outsourced to another company so obtaining positive feedback from them is nearly impossible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced but enjoyable
Quality Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cape Lambert12 December 2019
Great place to work. The surroundings and lifestyle are excellent. The site is well organised and the training opportunities are good. Living on site with a family is not for everyone but if you are outgoing and enjoy the outdoors than there are lots of activities. The quality of the schools are good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a well structured organisation with many sport entertainmant facilities,ie, Soccer,Golf,Squash,Darts
Data Capture Clerk (Former Employee) –  Empress Nicke Refinery6 December 2019
Rio Tinto has well organised structures and systems enabling employees to work in a professional manner. Rio Tinto also enabled me to learn a lot of work related and life skills that I took with me to the other organisations that I worked for. I joined Rio Tinto at the tender age of 20 and worked until I was 31. basically everything that I took with me to other organisations, I learnt from Rio Tinto.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mining System technician
Mining System Technician (Former Employee) –  Brockman 2 and 7 mile3 December 2019
I spent time working for Rio as a Mining system technician which i enjoyed as well as a stressful job.
I transferred to Rail as a rail system technician and did this role for 2 years also.
Enjoyed the role but made redundant.
I also cam e back as a contractor for 18 months as a Mining system technician.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oppertunity
Autonomous pit co=controller (Current Employee) –  Perth WA30 November 2019
Lots of opportunity for advancement, great family focused company. good support network for staff and family members. Would recommend others for roles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, great crew of guys
Camp Cook - Contract (Former Employee) –  Northern, Sask28 November 2019
breakfast and lunch ready at 6am. supper ready at 5:30 to 8:30. 38 man camp. clean up of showers and main eating area. floors and prep for next day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salle de cuve
Superviseur (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC26 November 2019
Travail bien structurer et axer sur sécurité . Travail d'équipe qualité des équipements
Pros
Salaire, ebergement, environnement
Cons
Le respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Middle management needs shake up, production over people
Train examiner (Former Employee) –  Cape Lambert WA24 November 2019
Job is enjoyable due to good workmates only. Over the last 2 years middle management has become a purple circle . Poor culture and negative vibe deeply ingrained now. Inexperinced ,skilless people (jobs for the boys) put in supervisor roles who just look after themselves and wouldn't think twice about throwing their loyal crew under the bus to save their own behainds. Massive turnover of staff. People leaving after months, weeks sometimes days of starting citing poor management and misleading information re job and conditions and culture . No progression or acknowledgment for loyal employees just empty promises. People are sick of being treated like dogs and are constantly applying for work elsewhere
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resourceful
Operator (Current Employee) –  Yandi Mine WA21 November 2019
Every chance to expand skills set without hard production pressure. Good management and supervision that genuinely want to help staff in the advancement of knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rio Tinto Tom Price
Trainer and Assessor (Former Employee) –  Tom Price WA16 November 2019
Departmentally challenging due to there being many different supers in a year and not much direction or focus.
Would like to have been able to stay here longer but an internal shakeup put pay to that
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly and supportive
Manager - Sales & Operations (Former Employee) –  Singapore3 November 2019
I have the maximum amount of growth and development. Lots of hands on training and external courses to develop our knowledge. Very cooperative team members and supportive boss.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Utilities Shift Engineer/A.S.E./Operator (Current Employee) –  Kitimat, BC2 November 2019
Safety is key and looked at seriously. Ideas on improving safety or production are well received on all levels of management.
Getting home safely to our families is a company priority
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rio Tinto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 746 reviews
5257
4279
3144
232
134

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture