Silver Fern Farms Employee Reviews for Packer

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 102 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Packer (Former Employee) –  Takapau26 August 2018
Personally it was fun working here, because i knew alot of people that work here. Also had the chance to be able to work with my partner which was really cool. I learnt so many new skills and was able to work fast while doing my jobs.
Pros
Money
Cons
Long off seasons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Lambcuts meat packer (Former Employee) –  Fairton, Canterbury19 July 2017
teamplayer, fun workplace, can do atitudes,
Supervisors are all good, workmate are good, try to manage product on time no avoid delays the most enjoyable part is when the tick on the last minute it's means home time and looking forward on the following day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shepherd, Packer (Former Employee) –  Waitoa, Waikato23 March 2017
A typical day at work is hard work, into as soon as you get there, i learnt how to herd a big group of calves into one pen and also learnt how manage the calves better, management was very helpful and awesome.Was having to listen so many different types of supervisors and people. Enjoyable part was working with others that would help you and enjoy working with you.
Pros
Shared Lunches
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too cold an enviroment to work in
Meat Packer, Carton Maker (Former Employee) –  Takapau Central Hawkes Bay15 January 2017
Removing bulk pieces of meat from a conveyor belt checking for bone chips and packing into boxes for the Export Market
Checking Seals and repacking products for Local NZ Supermarkets
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Very Cold Enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety in a work place
Meat Packer (Former Employee) –  Dunedin, Otago21 August 2016
Good working there loving meeting new people loved new gained throughout past work experience I like to try to new jobs I am looking to secure a challenging new role where transferable skills, knowleage and expertise gained experience
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Packer (Former Employee) –  Waikato District, Waikato20 April 2016
A typical day at work is really rushful, what i have learnt, how to work as a team and also as a individual, the management is well maintained, co workers are friendly. The hardest part about the job is having to listen to different supervisors, the most enjoyable part of the job is working with others and learning different skills
Pros
Co-Workers
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with my own people
Packer (Former Employee) –  Balclutha, S14 July 2015
I enjoyed working at Silver Fern Farm because I got to meet my family members from the Island.I wanted to see if I could handle hard work and I did.Everything is possible if I put my whole heart in it.The manager was encouraging the workers to work hard,earn more.The hardest part is,the coldness and the enjoyable part is packing the meats it was fun.
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
Good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Packing (Former Employee) –  Balclutha, S28 May 2015
Working at Finegand has been the excited. You get to meet a lot of new friendly people. You know what kind of meat you pack and its 100% fresh.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Packer/ Meat handler (Former Employee) –  TeAroha/Paeroa Waikato7 July 2014
Good money, good people, good working enviroment. Hassel free
Pros
Good people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, busy and safe work place
ph Operator/packer (Former Employee) –  Hawera Taranaki16 July 2012
It's always a busy day at work,, and I learned how to work safely and communicate well with New Zealanders, that work is not all about money but it's the good working relationship that matters as well. Management is good and very supportive to all workers, my fellow workers are very friendly. The most hardest part of the job for me there was carrying and lifting all throughout the day but the most enjoyable part of my job was when we work all together with team work, it makes easier for each one of us.
Pros
free drinks such as coffee, chocolates and tea
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report

See more Silver Fern Farms reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Silver Fern Farms. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 102 reviews
538
429
327
24
14

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture