Silver Fern Farms Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 104 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Packer (Former Employee) –  Takapau26 August 2018
Personally it was fun working here, because i knew alot of people that work here. Also had the chance to be able to work with my partner which was really cool. I learnt so many new skills and was able to work fast while doing my jobs.
Pros
Money
Cons
Long off seasons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want good job they the ones
Butcher (Former Employee) –  PAREORA NEW ZEALAND19 February 2018
It's easy to hard work team players different nations
Get full training from Management
Health n safety
They are fair if you are sick.
YOU need to learn always on a good contract
Pros
You have half hr lunch breaks 15 mins breaks for smoko
Cons
5 mins breaks .
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture and comradeship
Slaughterman Beef (Current Employee) –  Hawera, Taranaki14 December 2017
A work place like no other, I started work as a boy, three months later I was one of the team of men slaughtering. As you work up the pay grades D to C to B to A you work harder in faster, its a make or break environment some break some just stay on C grade or the easy B grades, but the hardest workers become legends...and earn top money. Management take there job seriously some can be militant, but it's a good union company relationship. Seniorority ensures a culture of respect and the step up to the task culture, though it can lead to issues with guys getting easier high grade jobs, it instills a sense of respect for long time employees union or management.
Pros
Money and mates
Cons
Short days due to plant location and a rival meatworks 18km away
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
marshalling (Former Employee) –  Hawke's Bay21 June 2017
very repetitive work, bad work culture but most of the people you work with are friendly, and there is a wide range of people, good for a short period of time
Pros
none
Cons
evrything
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Various roles (Former Employee) –  waitoa nz11 May 2017
good company good people. Seniority actually means something there. There is a bit of intimidation there which doesn't get accounted for. good money there on the bobbies
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job
trimmer packer (Former Employee) –  Chch, Canterbury28 November 2016
Great money. Not the most pleasant enviourment.not for the faint hearted. Hard constant work with short breaks fast paced and requires excellent knife skills
Pros
great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun
Meat Processor (Former Employee) –  Dargaville, Northland23 November 2016
Worked hard with good people. Learnt heaps good training.I enjoyed the challenges everyday. Hardest part of job was learning the harder jobs and getting speed. good place to work.
Pros
cheap meat
Cons
short days
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
label printer, packer (Former Employee) –  Takapau14 January 2016
it was hard work to do for me but I got some more leadership skills and was in a great shape because I used to sweat all the time in the temperature of 5-degree celsius. But for that hard work I think I was getting a decent pay.
Pros
great pay/overtime pay
Cons
far from my house and only seasonal work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistant and fun
Meat Process Worker (Current Employee) –  Pareora, S25 August 2015
Very hard working place with hard working people. Was good to have stable employment. Season did not last long enough and seniority is abit of a pain
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Short season
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
silver fran frams fairton
butcher slaughter man (Current Employee) –  Ashburton, S19 June 2015
very good place to work excellent hours were I worked had the radio going awesome boss very good people to work with cheap meat
Pros
indoors warm very good cafe
Cons
very hard work blood water
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal
butcher (Current Employee) –  pareora4 June 2015
All year round work would be great. Seasonal work only which is not good when you are budgeting for one. and i think its all
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun workplace and loved the people
knife handler (Former Employee) –  hawera taranaki new zealand9 February 2015
the work there was great i learned alot in the meat works the management wea great the co workers were good to work with and good to be around there were no hard part about this job as everyone were always there to help
Pros
free work gears and lunch once a week
Cons
always double shiffs if you wanted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright, but repetitive.
Meat Packer/Yard worker (Former Employee) –  Waitoa15 September 2014
Out in the yards was good enjoyable work, loved it, but when it came to working in the boning room, it was alright, but repetitive, like you were a robot.

Pay was done by quantity not hours, and most of my work was done in calving season, so turned out to be a good pay every week overall.
Pros
Good pay.
Cons
Robot like work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Packer/ Meat handler (Former Employee) –  TeAroha/Paeroa Waikato7 July 2014
Good money, good people, good working enviroment. Hassel free
Pros
Good people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working most of the time
2ic loin/rack line (Current Employee) –  Takapau, N25 April 2014
i enjoy work when iam busy and when employees all work together
Pros
good wages
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Takapau, N20 March 2014
good workplace team members enjoyed it learnt alot about chemicals acids health and safety in workplace
Pros
travel allowance
Cons
long night shift hours half hour drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work
Lambcut (Former Employee) –  Balclutha,Otago9 October 2013
It has a very high standard of health and safety.Good environment and a better working condition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding, Seasonal work, limited responsibilty.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Finegand, South Otago.23 July 2013
* a salary coming in
* Physically demanding
* Generally good supervision & support
* opportunity for limited responsibility (chemical room, inducting new broomies).
Pros
* kept me fit; a salary; interesting work colleagues.
Cons
Low pay; manual work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work constant but sometimes work 50 to 70 hrs a week
Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Waitoa25 September 2012
Sometimes they like you when they need you to do things for them and other times if you need something, the rules come back into play. There is always work here with SFF and people do work hard and long hours. We have a brand new plant which is the state of the art. Should be the best place to work.
Pros
a bbq if you work overtime on the weekend (at waitoa plant).
Cons
very long hours. asked to work overtime when you have completed 50 hrs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, busy and safe work place
ph Operator/packer (Former Employee) –  Hawera Taranaki16 July 2012
It's always a busy day at work,, and I learned how to work safely and communicate well with New Zealanders, that work is not all about money but it's the good working relationship that matters as well. Management is good and very supportive to all workers, my fellow workers are very friendly. The most hardest part of the job for me there was carrying and lifting all throughout the day but the most enjoyable part of my job was when we work all together with team work, it makes easier for each one of us.
Pros
free drinks such as coffee, chocolates and tea
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report

See more Silver Fern Farms reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Silver Fern Farms. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 104 reviews
538
430
327
24
15

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture