Silver Fern Farms Employee Reviews

Found 97 reviews matching the search See all 102 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi culture workplace in food industry
Trimmer and Boning (Current Employee) –  pareora2 October 2017
multi culture work place. Busy days at work no time wasting and physical work. Management is up to standard and great team to work with learned a lot from company about produce of fresh meats and different culture preferences. Health and Safety is a number one goal for them.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours not definite about future work days and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Lambcuts meat packer (Former Employee) –  Fairton, Canterbury19 July 2017
teamplayer, fun workplace, can do atitudes,
Supervisors are all good, workmate are good, try to manage product on time no avoid delays the most enjoyable part is when the tick on the last minute it's means home time and looking forward on the following day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy production line very fast paced and always changing,
Further Processing Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Fairton, Canterbury10 July 2017
As production scheduler I was always extremely busy and under considerable stress. There was always support available. I enjoyed this fast environment and there was never a dull time,
Pros
Days went very quickly
Cons
High pressure and focused work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Process Worker (Former Employee) –  Ashburton, Canterbury25 June 2017
it was a fun and good work environment where i learnt life skills with a knife the most enjoyable part of the job was the people i worked with hardest part was learning all the cuts management was not to bad to deal with
Pros
cheep meat
Cons
seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time with SFF
Quality Assurance/compliance officer (Current Employee) –  Fairton, Canterbury24 June 2017
any position is only what you make it. I worked in a small department with a very good manager. The main problem with SFF is the lack of communication and the top heavy business model. I had a varied day with sampling or auditing different departments. Just to make life interesting, the day could be interupted with compliance incidences thrown in to keep you on your toes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
marshalling (Former Employee) –  Hawke's Bay21 June 2017
very repetitive work, bad work culture but most of the people you work with are friendly, and there is a wide range of people, good for a short period of time
Pros
none
Cons
evrything
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplae to learn
Union delegate & packer (Former Employee) –  Bulls, Manawatu-Wanganui15 June 2017
I would definitely work here again, enjoyed gaining new skills surrounding Union Delegate. I was part of a team that gained the highest yield count in the history of night shift while working there. great people.
Pros
easy money. good culture. good training.
Cons
not many oportunities career wise
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Food Processor (Former Employee) –  Hawke's Bay15 May 2017
Silver Fern farms is a great learning experience as you meet a lot of different people each with unique talents which they share with you. Hardest part of the job is keeping up when you first start and keeping your knife sharp at all times.
Pros
Learning great skills
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Various roles (Former Employee) –  waitoa nz11 May 2017
good company good people. Seniority actually means something there. There is a bit of intimidation there which doesn't get accounted for. good money there on the bobbies
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Scanner (Former Employee) –  Waitotara, Taranaki30 March 2017
I really enjoyed working with silver fern farms, I liked the strictness. I learned quite a lot from the time I was there. The management and team work was also really good
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shepherd, Packer (Former Employee) –  Waitoa, Waikato23 March 2017
A typical day at work is hard work, into as soon as you get there, i learnt how to herd a big group of calves into one pen and also learnt how manage the calves better, management was very helpful and awesome.Was having to listen so many different types of supervisors and people. Enjoyable part was working with others that would help you and enjoy working with you.
Pros
Shared Lunches
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary highly recommend to start work there. Good money great work place
Lamb Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Takapau16 February 2017
My review on silver ferns takapau is great. i learnt how to trim and handle meat i learnt how to sharpen and look after gear. i worked with great people and got paid really well. Typical day would be sharping knifes cleaning gear and gumboots applying the right work gear. keeping your work area clean. Most enjoyable part would be working with a great team. Hardest part would be keeping my knifes sharp
Pros
Fresh cooked lunch & dinner
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Packer/trimmer (Former Employee) –  Hawera, Taranaki2 February 2017
good work environment , you get to meet a lot of new people aswell as learn some very valuable skills to take with you in life
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too cold an enviroment to work in
Meat Packer, Carton Maker (Former Employee) –  Takapau Central Hawkes Bay15 January 2017
Removing bulk pieces of meat from a conveyor belt checking for bone chips and packing into boxes for the Export Market
Checking Seals and repacking products for Local NZ Supermarkets
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Very Cold Enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team to work with
Freezing Worker (Former Employee) –  Timaru, Canterbury9 January 2017
Hard work but good pay.
Learned how to sharpen a knife and to bone out a lamb,
Managers were ok but the guys and girls I worked with were great. A really friendly bunch and good team environment.
Boning is hard on the wrists but working fast can be fun depending on your attitude. making a game of it and racing each other makes work a lot more enjoyable.
Pros
Good pay for hard work
Cons
the work is seasonal but this can be seen as a pro too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Colleagues
Cleaner- Scrubber (Former Employee) –  Te Aroha, Waikato8 January 2017
High standard place to work for especially when it comes to hygiene and making sure everything is done to a T. Loved every minute working at this place highly recommended..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good job
Floor boy (Current Employee) –  Te aroha8 December 2016
It is a good place to work at when you finish college I clean the floors and do a wash up through the night as it keep others safe if you want a good payed job silver furn farms is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job
trimmer packer (Former Employee) –  Chch, Canterbury28 November 2016
Great money. Not the most pleasant enviourment.not for the faint hearted. Hard constant work with short breaks fast paced and requires excellent knife skills
Pros
great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun
Meat Processor (Former Employee) –  Dargaville, Northland23 November 2016
Worked hard with good people. Learnt heaps good training.I enjoyed the challenges everyday. Hardest part of job was learning the harder jobs and getting speed. good place to work.
Pros
cheap meat
Cons
short days
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety in a work place
Meat Packer (Former Employee) –  Dunedin, Otago21 August 2016
Good working there loving meeting new people loved new gained throughout past work experience I like to try to new jobs I am looking to secure a challenging new role where transferable skills, knowleage and expertise gained experience
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Silver Fern Farms. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 102 reviews
538
429
327
24
14

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture