Silver Fern Farms Employee Reviews

Found 97 reviews matching the search See all 102 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plain And Bold
Dental Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, Anglesea st5 December 2013
Typical day at work bosses would speak in foorn languages (Not knowing what they are saying)
I learnt different medicines and Surgery Intruments/Equipment
Manager was very bubbly and i found it easy to communicate with her,
Co-workers, enjoyed working along side of theses people
The hardest part of the job would have been communicating with the bosses
The most enjoying part of the job would have to be learning about teeth and the bosses cultures.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours, short breaks (sometimes no break till no patients)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
labourer, Offal room (Current Employee) –  Waitotara17 November 2013
An excellent place to work. I was very fortunate to have worked there. The people I worked with were friendly, I learned some good time management skills here. The hardest part of the job was probably correcting others mistakes due to not concentrating but we got there in the end. Supervisors and staff Management were excellent.
Pros
good bosses
Cons
seasonal work, not permanent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awsome work place
Trimmer - T, D, R's (Former Employee) –  Waitoa5 November 2013
I Walked in to the job not knowing what to do with packing and also knifes in the whole year and 2months i was employed there
I had learned how to sharpen a knife handle a knife trim and also pack the meat the most enjoyable bit of the time i was employed was meeting alot of people but also learning that every one has a diffrent way of sharpening there knife's and also packing
management and also co-workers where great easy to get along well with the only downer was seasonal work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work
Lambcut (Former Employee) –  Balclutha,Otago9 October 2013
It has a very high standard of health and safety.Good environment and a better working condition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job.
Hygiene Operator (Former Employee) –  Hawera, N4 August 2013
I did somewhat enjoy my time at Ecowize, I learned a lot from working as a Hygiene Operator and was a good learning experience.
The hardest part of the job was picking up the slack from absent employees.
Cons
Over worked, under paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Seasonal Worker (Current Employee) –  Hawera, N4 August 2013
I enjoy working for Silver Fern Farms, Management are good as they look after their employees and are very helpful with duties that I wasn't confident with at the beginning of my employment. Working with co-workers and making new friends is the most enjoyable part of my job.
Pros
Good wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding, Seasonal work, limited responsibilty.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Finegand, South Otago.23 July 2013
* a salary coming in
* Physically demanding
* Generally good supervision & support
* opportunity for limited responsibility (chemical room, inducting new broomies).
Pros
* kept me fit; a salary; interesting work colleagues.
Cons
Low pay; manual work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and safe
Slaughter Hand (Former Employee) –  Te Aroha18 July 2013
8 1/2 hr work a day, learned there is more to a bugger than just eating.
Management where more than friendly, co-workers become family,
the hardest part about this job was to leave, most enjoyable part was working in a clean environment with such friendly people that made you fell part of a team.
Top Place to work at shame its in New Zealand not Australia.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 10Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Meat Processing (Former Employee) –  Takapau25 May 2013
My overall view of this company and everyone involved from top
to bottom.
1) I enjoy and look forward to my job
2) I enjoy working in a team inviroment
3) Its not a hard job at all
4) Rotating is the best part
5) Don't see much of Management
6) Get on well with Team Leader & Supervisor
Pros
Potential to earn good money
Cons
Its seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Silver Ferns.
Labourer folk lift (Former Employee) –  Waitotara2 February 2013
My day would start at 4:30pm and finish at around 3:30am. I learnt that a factory must at all times be kept to a certain standard for health and safety reasons,also paper work is very important for tracing anything that may pop up in the future (papertrail). Time management was important as many things ran on timelines. I enjoyed setting my self standards above previous employees and pushing my limits as i was the only one in my area. I also liked working within a wide range of people all with different beliefs,cultures and backrounds etc.
Pros
total responsibilitie for the work i put out
Cons
long hours - 12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working
meat processor (Current Employee) –  Waitoa, Waikato11 November 2012
People are easy to get along with at Silverferns Farm, outgoing staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work constant but sometimes work 50 to 70 hrs a week
Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Waitoa25 September 2012
Sometimes they like you when they need you to do things for them and other times if you need something, the rules come back into play. There is always work here with SFF and people do work hard and long hours. We have a brand new plant which is the state of the art. Should be the best place to work.
Pros
a bbq if you work overtime on the weekend (at waitoa plant).
Cons
very long hours. asked to work overtime when you have completed 50 hrs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, busy and safe work place
ph Operator/packer (Former Employee) –  Hawera Taranaki16 July 2012
It's always a busy day at work,, and I learned how to work safely and communicate well with New Zealanders, that work is not all about money but it's the good working relationship that matters as well. Management is good and very supportive to all workers, my fellow workers are very friendly. The most hardest part of the job for me there was carrying and lifting all throughout the day but the most enjoyable part of my job was when we work all together with team work, it makes easier for each one of us.
Pros
free drinks such as coffee, chocolates and tea
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contract job
Freezing Worker (Former Employee) –  Timaru12 July 2012
working beside the grader
putting the tickets on the lamb and mutton carcasses
busy work and the day goes quickly
great people I work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and physically beneficial workplace
Freezing Worker - wooldryer (Current Employee) –  Pareora, South Canterbury, New Zealand.11 July 2012
Early start and have to keep fit for whole season therefore have to pace myself. The physical nature of the job is the most enjoyable part. Working in with others on the job involves give and take. Learn something every day whether it's about the product or machinery. The hardest part could be breakdowns. Management are very good to deal with.
Pros
good hours
Cons
there aren't any
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive an a awesome-workplace
knifehand an bandsaw operator (Former Employee) –  hastings5 June 2012
productive an a awesome-workplace,good training an trainers,can't wait for next season
Pros
awesome canteen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Silver Fern Farms reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Silver Fern Farms. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 102 reviews
538
429
327
24
14

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture