Steinhoff International Employee Reviews

Showing all 51 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace environment
Website Administrator (Former Employee) –  Dartford, Kent11 July 2019
When working at Steinhoff I found the working environment to be very toxic. Moral was low around the different department in the office due to management not pulling their weight, nor lightening employees work load. I found that work would be forced upon you and expected to be completed within in time frame with no praise on completion. Out of hours work on weekends and nights was expecting without overtime payment sometimes at Midnight onward. I found the working environment unsuitable and un-enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Welding Inspector (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga, KwaZulu-Natal9 July 2019
Work environment was great and I learnt a lot in relations to working under pressure and how to handle different challenges. Worked with diverse cultures and people.
Pros
Yes
Cons
Yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Angry shouting management bullies
Regional Manager (Former Employee) –  North of england10 April 2019
Sales targets are everything in store and at regional level. Senior managers and directors just shout louder if you don't hit a target. Flavour of the month one day and the worst human being in the world the next. Don't work here. Really old fashioned poor culture and little, if any HR support.
Pros
None
Cons
Terrible HR
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place
Stock controller (Former Employee) –  Lutterworth, Leicestershire27 March 2019
Horrible management horrible place to work.Not safe to work there at all.Bullied by the management. Don't go there to work.Not follow the health and safety rules at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior project manager
Senior Logistics Engineer (Former Employee) –  Maastricht Aachen Airport26 February 2019
Voor alle projecten zijn er project-schema's en voortgangsrapportages opgesteld. Iedere ochtend wordt er gestart met het opvragen van de statussen van de acties die die dag verlopen. Om achterstanden pro-actief te kunnen volgen gebeurd dit via e-mail.
Tegelijkertijd worden de openstaande e-mails van die ochtend weggewerkt, of wanneer actie vereist is, de acties ingepland voor later die dag of die week.
Dan volgt er een (wekelijkse) belronde naar alle projectmanagers om de voortgang en eventuele issues te rapporteren.
Hierna worden de actiepunten bijgewerkt en de projectdeelnemers geïnformeerd over de status en de feedback van de projectteams, stuurgroep en/of het management.
Ook uit deze feedback worden er actiepunten bijgewerkt en ingepland.
Dan loopt het al tegen de middag en worden de laatste -e-mails verzonden.
Na de middag wordt er wederom gekeken of er feedback is van de verzonden e-mails van die ochtend.
Vervolgens worden de actielijsten opnieuw samengesteld en verzonden naar alle projectdeelnemers.
Bij voorkeur heeft ieder project zijn eigen projectdag, om het werk zo goed mogelijk te kunnen voorbereiden. Deze voorbereiding bestaat uit het opstellen van een projectverslag (alle activiteiten hierboven vermeld incl. conclusies en actielijst)
Daarna volgt er via een webex-achtige oplossing teamoverleg met de projectgroep.
Na het teamoverleg worden de laatste rapportages bijgewerkt en bij het afsluiten van een project worden de projectsheets voorbereid voor de eindpresentatie aan het MT, management of de stuurgroep.
Morgen is wordt de hele riedel weer herhaald.
  more...
Wekelijkse meetings vinden plaats met de eigen afdeling en de manager.

De cultuur binnen Steinhoff op de afdelingen is erg positief. Termen als familie-waarden en ondernemerschap stonden daar in hoog aanzien, maar worden vooral door het lokale management gedragen, welke ik hoog heb zitten.

Veel geleerd over management stijlen en omgang met je mede-mens. Ook gemerkt dat een onderneming zo goed is als het management dat dit draagt.

Het leukste van de baan was het reizen en de verschillende ondernemingen waar ik mee te maken kreeg.
Maar het vele reizen was ook zwaar: vaak vroeg weg (5:00 uur) naar het vliegveld en dan 's-avonds week laat terug (23:00 uur).
De volgende dag wordt wel van je verwacht dat je weer tijdig op kantoor bent.
  less
Pros
Gedegen lokaal management, veel reizen
Cons
Veel reizen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tamworth NSW12 February 2019
Intensive training, without pay. after hours training from reps without pay. Large KPIS without foot traffic. Hours down to 2 a week.
Very insulting on ones intelligence.
Pros
None
Cons
Hardly any hours, using gov subsidies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking
Factory worker (Former Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend7 February 2019
Started here a few weeks ago , my first job since leaving collage!! the pay is not the best but it was a job .. yesterday I was waiting for a frame to come down when middle manager came to me with a massive attitude and said I could be cleaning the ‘ leak ‘ over the other side I said I didnt know this and he started shouting so much that I could feel his spit on my face 🤮🤢 should anyone put up with that ? Respect is earned isn’t it ? Well after me challenging his attitude towards me I got the sack , being an agency worker what could I actually do ? They shouldn’t be allowed to get away with it !!
And maybe middle men should be put on courses of how to treat their staff in situations!!
Also the pay grades to agency and staff who are permanent is different!! Isn’t it law to pay the same while doing the same job ?
All in all such a horrible place to work , get shouted at and then challenged him to get sacked 😱
So advice to anyone looking to be the dogs body DONT speak up get treated like a nobody and you will be fine
Pros
None
Cons
Lots .. heavy hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement.
Finance (Former Employee) –  Accrington, Lancashire28 January 2019
If you want a glum workplace with no progression, full of disgruntled workers and lazy middle management, look no further. If you want to do the bare minimum, mediocre work and shoot off home bang on 5pm then apply now.

The benefits are minimal, and as for the 'culture' of the place - besides the bacteria in the regularly out-of-order toilets - there isn't any. Don't get me wrong, the majority of my colleagues were fantastic as they were in the same situation as me, but most of the middle managers are just self-serving - the company has zero personal development. The concept of people management and development simply doesn't exist here. You're just a number, trapped on a conveyor belt. It's grim and demoralising.

There's also a severe lack of communication and openness around the company. You don't feel a part of the company. You're judged by the lowest common denominator - if one employee does something wrong, the entire company is judged and restricted instead of trying to solve the issue directly, but that obviously takes time and effort. The company is extremely hierarchical with a humongous divide between middle managers and executives/entry level employees - divide in pay, benefits and communication - and you can sense that divide every day.

There's zero encouragement for social activities or wellbeing. For a large company, they still operate with a small company mentality and with disregard for employee wellbeing and development. They seem so obsessed with cost cutting and keeping every penny to themselves. The pay gap between middle/senior management and
  more... executives/entry level employees is ridiculous. Plus considering the salaries are so low (allegedly because of their geographical location), you would expect some kind of staff benefits even if its just free fruit or planned team sport activities like football matches. There haven't been any pay rises in the last three years and I can count the number of internal promotions in the last five years on one hand.

Moving on was the best thing I did and it really opened my eyes to what a massive disappointment the company has turned into over the nine years I was there. I don't think they'll ever change but they really need to start looking after people better. I left on good terms with a perfect employment record but I wasn't even given an exit interview (as with most who had left around me - that's how little they value and respect their lower level employees). They don't need to throw money at people; they simply need to start listening, showing some compassion and care about retaining their employees.
  less
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
See above..
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steinhoff
bagger (Former Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend26 December 2018
worked there for 8 months with agency and 1 day off ill and got sacked the work is easy, managers are useless, plenty of over time when i worked there.
Pros
easy work
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful Products and good place to work
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  London14 December 2018
It has been my pleasure to work with Bensons for beds. It is really good company to work for. During my time i have learned a lot and enjoyed every day of my work
Pros
very god company to work for
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Accrington, Lancashire9 October 2018
Great place to work, good salary and the OT is always there at time and half or double time. Good environment to be around. You will always enjoy coming im to work and never be bored doing nothing!
Pros
Own canteen, potential 150 a week bonus, OT always available
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No no no
Store manager (Current Employee) –  Lancashire3 August 2018
I worked as store manager and would not recommend this company. Bully boy culture and antiquated systems, dogs body on low pay for what is expected.,no life outside of work especially seasonal stores.
Pros
Good staff
Cons
Low pay and no progression or work life balance..
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid established bed business
Manager (Former Employee) –  UK2 August 2018
Good to work for while being challenging too. Excellent product range to sell from with an established brand behind you. Able to adapt to an ever changing marketplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shocking working conditions and management are unprofessional
service person (Former Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend18 June 2018
Do not work for this company. Treated like a dogs body and no appreciation. Cant have days off for genuine illness and end up loosing your job over it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INKORREKT felső vezetés
KASSZÁS (Former Employee) –  XXIII. SOROKSÁR11 June 2018
Hírdetésre jelentkeztem, és már a belépéskor voltak jelek amikre figyelnem kellett volna. Tologatták a belépés dátumát, hogy mikortól lenne nekik jó. Több alkalommal kellett egyezetetnem , olyan dolgokról amit egyszer már megbeszéltünk, de nem kaptam infókat a belépést megelőző tanfolyamról ( kezdés pontos idejéről, helyről, előadó nevéről,stb ) Fényesen kezdődött. A tanfolyamon 4 nap bemutató volt a cégről, vezetőkről, munkahelyi szokásokról,program használatról, coach munka stb. A munkábalépés napjaiban kiderült, hogy gyakorlatilag az üzlet a lét és a nem lét között egyensúlyozik. Nem tud olyan bevételt produkálni amit elvárnak tőle. A bankok leminősítették, milliárdokat loptak ki belőle stb . Nem titok olvasható ha beírjátok a keresőbe hogy Steinhoff csoport. Fluktuáció igen magas. Alig fizetik meg a bérminimumot. A szakemberek asztalosok, értékesítők hagyják el a céget. Kiderült, hogy a kasszafelügyelők munkáját megszüntették, és az egyik ilyen módon felszabadult kolléganőmet kasszázni tették le, mindenféle előzetes értesítés nélkül, sőt utólag szóltak neki 5-én, hogy egyébként elsejétől nem vagy főnök.. Így aztán amikor én odakerültem gyakorlatilag egy nem létező munkahelyet hírdettek meg, hiszen így sokan lettünk a bevételhez a feladatra. A második hónap végén megkérdeztem a közvetlen főnökömet, hogy elégedett-e munkámmal és szerinte maradhatok-e ? A válasz igen, de nem ő dönt. Akkor megkérdeztem mindkét áruház vezetőt, akik kitértek a válasz elől, azzal, hogy le fogunk ülni később megbeszélni. Miután az elkövetkező hetekben nem került erre sor, megnyugodtam. A próbaidőm  more... utolsó napján azonban közölték velem, hogy nem tudnak tovább alkalmazni. No ezt mérhetetlenül inkorrekt magatartásnak tartom, hiszen nem érdemeltem meg ezt az eljárást és most 3-4 hét ellátátatlanság és munkahelykeresés vár rám. Ettől megkímélhettek volna, ha akkor annyit mondanak hogy keressek állást, mert sajnos ez a helyzet.Akkor azonnal keresni kezdek és mára van állásom. A felső vezetők alkalmatlanok a feladataik elvégzésére, a saját munkájukat másokkal végeztetik el, de ha tanácsot kérsz tőlük akkor nem tudnak válaszolni, segíteni. Kár értük, mert a közvetlen kollégák kedvesek voltak, segítőkészek, a munka jó,a temékek szépek, a beosztásnál figyelembe vették a kéréseket. A vevőszolgálaton viszont egymást eszik a kollégák, túlterheltek, alig van szabadnapjuk, rossz a légkör ,sokan hagyják ott őket 1-2 hónap után .  less
Pros
étteremben kezdvezmény, kollégák, parkoló. bejárás segítése
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 14Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job if you’re looking for autonomy
SALES MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Crystal Lake, IL2 June 2018
I work by myself the majority of the time but even when I have huge sales the payout is not all that great. Base salary should be higher. The base salary is not enough to take care of oneself without having another job.
Pros
Work alone, free time, 50 + hours/week
Cons
Work/life balance, base pay, poor commission based compensation plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interview
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Lutterworth, Leicestershire23 May 2018
You walk in to an icebreaker and within minutes your split into groups and not even given a chance to even have a one to one interview and not even given an explanation as to why. Do not understand how they can be so quick to judge, pure rude and would not recommend them at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management practices
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  South East21 May 2018
managers stealing your sales making you do things out back so they can serve customers not showing you anything rostering you for late shifts 12-8pm while they do none commission always wrong when they had to pay min wage as required by law put a gateway on commission so if you earned £700 £410 was clawed back but not put on to managers wages.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours on your own
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Quality Engineer (Chemical Engineer) (Former Employee) –  Vietnam4 May 2018
The company is focusing on the efficiency and therefore, it is one of the best place to work if people prefer to work hard. Work life balance doesn't seem meaningful a lot here.
Pros
Fast pace
Cons
High workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High targets to achieve
SALES CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  London10 April 2018
High targets to achieve, with a high amount of money gated before taking any commission. Manager very strict about holiday dates and puts a lot of pressure on each about selling.
Pros
Flexible working hours as a part-timer
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Steinhoff International. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 51 reviews
511
414
36
25
115

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.8Culture