Tradestaff Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing a good balance of jobs
Worker (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland8 May 2019
Alot of moving around alot of different job sites. Pay varies according to experience. Good place to work for and grow to learn different things. Nice....
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unreliable
General Labour (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, Waikato29 June 2018
Tradestaff is an on call place to work, you can find full time jobs through tradestaff yet its not a definite, also its unreliable in the fact that you may not get work everyday of the week, pay day will vary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy and fast work
Joiner (Former Employee) –  Wellington City, Wellington18 April 2018
tradestaff found my first work rather quickly for me.
they assessed my site safety and provided me with all necessary PPE.
they are also really helpful with any issue one might have
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for short term labour jobs
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland11 March 2018
A good base to begin employment but perhaps not sustainable given the average wage for general labourers.
Although would recommend for skilled tradesmen
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Landscape - gardener (Former Employee) –  Otago10 March 2018
It was the best experience I´ve ever had. Although they are temporary jobs, the predisposition of the company to help me get jobs that were related to my search profile was excellent.
Pros
A lot of hours. Good payment. Good peolple and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Carpenter/Formworker (Former Employee) –  christchurh, new zealand5 March 2018
I enjoyed working on this company cause they give me what I want especially working in new project.eg They provide anything as long as it the safety equipment. they paid me in time. they give long hour work.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job placement surety
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Christchurch City, Canterbury12 July 2017
Trade Staff was the agent that placed me with the first company I worked for in Christchurch. Consultant was friendly and always helpful. Work culture was as would be expected of a recruiting agency. Good communication. The negative was that they only would find me placements for a more junior mechanic, I needed the work so I went with them.
Pros
Not applicable
Cons
Salary and job placements
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Temp Work (Former Employee) –  Christchurch, Canterbury24 May 2017
I only worked at tradestaff only a couple of times as i fell pregnant with my son and i had to give up work at 16weeks pregnant as i was in and out of hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.productive and fun
Labourer (Former Employee) –  .christchurch4 April 2017
its a good team to work with very heavy work at some points but good money good hours if your keen and there are diffrent jobs on site you will be a part of a good and organized team
Pros
.free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to finde work with
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fitzroy, Taranaki4 March 2017
good pay rates and positive working environment with on going employment was alright but i was more looking to be in something more permanent rather than temp
Pros
regulare brake interviles
Cons
long hours and constant phisicle manual labouring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp on working holiday
Temp Worker (Former Employee) –  Christchurch, Canterbury27 November 2016
Worked temporarily for them in Christchurch and they treated me great. They are one of the best companies that Ive been with
Pros
Excellent pay and culture
Cons
Lack of full time unskilled
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Christchurch, Canterbury17 September 2016
Easy productive atmosphere with interesting work. There was varied locations with varied work. The instruction for projects was adequate and efficient.
Pros
travel bonuses
Cons
differant locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked the fact i could get stuck in to it with my hands
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, Waikato13 September 2016
Was overall awesome I loved the job the boss and respected the job we done had a lot of fun learning new things knowing how to dismantle scrap an sort precious metals
Pros
the traveling and hardwork
Cons
to long of distant traveling otherwise was great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventurous and Spontaneous
General Labour (Current Employee) –  New Plymouth, Taranaki22 May 2016
Working with a positive outlook and living each day as Saturday with me joyful and creates a good vibe for the work place and team.

Learning every Day and growing by the second.

There isn't no easy or hard job that is to big or to small.

Living and learning and watch the business and yourself grow.
Pros
Meeting new people and learning new skills
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place that challenges you
Labourer (Current Employee) –  Dunedin, Otago20 March 2016
Its difficult labour but i enjoy the challenge, it is well run and the co workers were helpful when i started at a new site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No good
No hints (Former Employee) –  Christchurch (I'm lieing to protect my identity)2 August 2015
The first time I worked for Tradestaff I signed a contract saying I would not work for les than $16.00 p/h, I was paid minimum wage despite this. I was made to work around human feces without waterproof gloves or being told it was feces. I got very, very sick that same night and they didn't apologise or believe that I was sick.

A few years later I found myself in-between jobs again so I thought I'd give them a go again. I signed a contract stating I would not work for anything less than $17.00-18.00 p/h, once again I was paid minimum wage. I was promised near full time employment and received only 1 week of work. The company I worked for through them said 'I was the best worker they've ever had through Tradestaff' So I know I did a good job.

I was spoken to by with very passive aggressive employees who seemed to talk down to me and other workers. I would NOT recommend working for them

I feel like Tradestaff is taking away full time/ part time contracts of employment from the community and making it more difficult for people to land a permanent role. they LIE about wages and are in general not worth the time IMO
Cons
Condescending staff, low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Experience
Electrical Trade Assistant - Kings Electrical (Former Employee) –  Christchurch, New Zealand24 June 2015
Offered tons of flexibility while working and travelling the beautiful country of New Zealand. Offered very decent wages, and very decent hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Temp/OnCall (Former Employee) –  manukau6 August 2014
meet a lot of people great place to work i was doing traffic control with trade staff and worked for a book company near the airport that was from trade staff as well.
Cons
the hours was from 8 to 430
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Bay of Plenty4 August 2014
I have learned to relate well with a diverse range of people on each different job. The easiest part of the job would be doing what I love to do driving forklifts and heavy machinery, the hardest part is getting off my butt and labouring. A typical day at work well there isn't one as each day is always different to the next which is interesting offers no security.
Pros
Free ride to the job
Cons
Not certain that i will have work on a regular basis
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Enjoyable
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Christchurch26 May 2014
Just a on call job, we get shifted from work site to other work sites and it is fun and enjoyable at times, something different every week or two.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tradestaff. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 29 reviews
56
412
38
22
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.5Culture