Turners Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't matter how many years you are gonna work for the company you will be paid same as a new starters.
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Soham20 July 2019
Lots of very low lQ people, it's really not helps as a person to grow up.
Pros
For free experience to gain.
Cons
Not unstable hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work you like a dog, no management backup, terrible wage for dodgy work.
Trailer Fitter (Former Employee) –  Quadring, Lincolnshire22 June 2019
Turners is a interesting place to work. if your looking for somewhere that will throw you under a bus for a pittance then apply. if you want a place where your main job is to take tea breaks then this is the job for you. if you don't really care about your work or life cause the chances of you getting arrested for work done is quite high then this is the place for you. if you are looking for management backup you will be surely disappointed as they prefer to blame you, take your money and talk about you behind your back. Then Turners really does have the best team around.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, Terrible wage, lack of training, dodgy work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun worplace
Fleet Maintenance Administrator (Former Employee) –  Soham27 October 2018
A really fun place to work, with lots of different areas to grow, meaning everyday was a new challenge within the business, one i would recommend working for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Line Leader, Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, Suffolk1 February 2018
Amazing job.Its is very easy work for young and old people. Good mannagers, not cold inside about +11. You work like in one place with another peoples. But low money.
Pros
Smoking area
Cons
9-12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Wittering30 December 2017
Management wasn't great. Colleagues were lovely.
overall okay place to work but job security wasn't guaranteed. you mainly work on your own cleaning, you have to be respectable of the people you are cleaning for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly paid although on time
ADR Driver (Former Employee) –  Theale, Berkshire29 November 2017
Worked on BWOC contract out of Theale. Wasn’t run the best by bwoc operators or staff. Turners employees and management always backed me up. In that sense great first company to get experience
Pros
Monday to friday
Cons
Poorly paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Transport Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Wissington13 November 2017
this firm was one of the best firms i had the pleasure to work for it was a shame they lost the contract and i transferd under TUPE to the new firm who took over
Pros
good firm to work for
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Food factory (Former Employee) –  Tunbridge Wells, Kent3 November 2017
Was a good place to work enjoyed working in teams ect ... managment were nice and very understanding..i enjoyed being part of there team..thoroughly enjoyed being there :)
Pros
Good working enviroment
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Warehouse
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Browns Bay25 July 2017
I had the pleasure of working with them in a good team and I regret that I can not work with them anymore because I did not have transport to work....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Powder tanks
Tanker Driver (Current Employee) –  Trafford Park, Greater Manchester22 April 2017
Ive just finished my fourth week bulk powder tanks tramping.. So far so good. Well maintained tackle. Pay is acceptable. Overall im enjoying the work
Pros
Realistic targets load unload times.. Left to get on with the job
Cons
Maybe a couple of quid an hour on the pay (show me a driver that does not think this)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a summer work
Line Operator (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, Suffolk3 April 2017
It is a nice place if you are looking for a summer job and need a easy money, but if you working in that place too long it just make you crazy. Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if you like working alone
Domestic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wittering31 March 2017
I was responsible for cleaning offices and blocks at the army barracks. Full training was given beforehand and I was able to shadow for a couple of weeks until I felt confident. Transport was also provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Demanding Workplace
Transport Planner (Current Employee) –  Soham30 January 2017
Shift patterns are demanding, the 4 on 4 off is used. Starting anywhere between 6am and 7:30am for day shift and nightshift starting at 7pm working 12 hour shifts.

Management has many tiers and sometimes collides.

Hardest part of the job is the continual changing of the goalposts, although colleagues are supportive and training is done on the job.

Most enjoyable part of the job is when the plan you put together gets utilised to it's full capacity.
Pros
Strong Support Network in the Company
Cons
Long Hours, Weekend Working
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trabajo entretenido
Carretillero y mozo de almacén (Former Employee) –  Reino Unido25 September 2016
Es un buen trabajo, porque:
-Las graficas de trabajo son muy buenas.
-Las condiciones de trabajo buenas.
-La direcciòn son muy responsables.
Pros
Obtencion de material de trabajo
Cons
Poco tiempo en los descansos
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was very dif to any job ive had
line op (Former Employee) –  Royal Tunbridge Wells9 June 2016
had to wear hard hats and full overals and wellies but was a good job had a staff shop wich sold any of the products we made on sight most of the people were foren so not much conversation. hardest part was the long drive to and from as i lived in hastings at the time
Pros
staff shop
Cons
long unsocial hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Barrowford19 May 2016
I joined Turners at the young age of 15 when it was expanding from a small coffee shop towards a more diverse bistro focusing on wine, cheese and coffee as well as good food.
I worked with a small team and regularly organised front of house with initiative and sectioned the bistro to suit staff numbers.
Pros
A good wage for my age group
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Operations Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  Soham9 February 2016
A good place to work, great manager.
Most days there would be something new to learn, with new external contracts and their way of working and logging work
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buzzing Work Enviroment
Sales Order Processor (Current Employee) –  Bicker8 February 2016
ITs a fun place to work, and easy to make friends with in the office. No day is ever the same. Processing around 100 orders a day, as well as answering phones. sending emails.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Order picker (Former Employee) –  soham5 February 2016
This job was a great job. It was a simple pick and pack operation with a fun atmosphere. The only problem was it was really cold to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Packer (Former Employee) –  newmarket31 May 2015
important is teamwork and adapting working conditions so thats work becomes very easy ,knowledge and sectio ning products etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Turners. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 34 reviews
510
410
39
21
14

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.4Culture