YMCA Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search See all 27,054 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraged diversity, personal growth and a real team environment.
OSCAR leader (Former Employee) –  Hamilton City, Waikato6 June 2019
While working for the YMCA we were always encouraged to uphold the four YMCA values responsibility, respect, caring and honesty. Even after leaving this job, I continue to carry out these values in my day to day life.
By working for the YMCA I learned that it is okay to ask for help and step in when you see someone else struggling. I enjoyed working with a diverse range of people from any different cultures and of many different ages.
Not having a set number of guaranteed hours every week was a struggle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People good, bringing them into the 20th century was a good challenge
ICT Manager (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland16 July 2018
Was a 6 month contract to sort out and simplify there infrastructure.
This was extended to 2.5 years, in this time systems and processes were put in place to allow them to easily integrate new business units into the YMCA portfolio
Pros
People
Cons
No clear direction from CEO
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sports League Referee (Former Employee) –  Wellington City, Wellington23 December 2017
I loved working here as a Referee as well as a Holiday Programme co-ordinator. Working with the younger generation of Wellington and gaining skills on how to interact with young kids have been exciting to do as a paid role.
Pros
Fun Environment
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Napier, Hawke's Bay20 December 2017
really enjoyed working here.. fun an friendly stuff ... wonderfull boss to work for ...wish i never had to leave this job.... alway wel informed about everythink
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer with the YMCA
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Christchurch, Canterbury13 December 2017
I have been a volunteer with the YMCA for just over a year now. I can honestly say that by working with the YMCA I have gained some incredible experiences that I could not have otherwise. Everyone at the Y is so friendly and welcoming and are more than happy to go out of their way to help you which was amazing! I am still volunteering with YMCA and can see myself doing so for a while.
Pros
Gaining new skills and making connections with others
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun outdoor work environment
Outdoor Educator (Former Employee) –  Christchurch6 December 2017
Wainui Park offered a fun work environment. Working there helped be develop skills with working with people one on one and in large groups. However I would work long days often times without a weekend.
Pros
Free Housing
Cons
Long Work Day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with school age children
Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Taranaki30 October 2017
This program was working with children 5 years to 15 years during the School Holidays. The purpose was to train positive leaders. My experience was learning how to be a role model and how to keep children safe whilst under my supervision.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wholesome, family oriented.
Wages Clerk/Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Wellington, Wellington31 July 2017
Working for this Company was a joy. I was 16 and new to the workforce and those there were mostly senior to me and yet they supported me and made me feel like I 'belong'. There is a spiritual ethos at the YMCA that promotes well-being. The tone was positive and this was a great place to begin a career in the workforce. I have nothing but praise for the Staff and the YMCA's commitment to excellence, health and positive stance. Many role-models can be found here.
Pros
Vision and leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Volunteer Homework Club Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, Canterbury23 July 2017
Helped children complete homework after school.
Basic skills needed as the children are all in elementary school.
Lack of organization in the management team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team and Customer driven
Night Porter (Former Employee) –  Auckland22 May 2017
Originally we were not a member of the organization but were bought by the organization and integrated into it. Great community to be involved with . They offer high levels of service.
Pros
Free gym membership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very out going and productive
HP Leader (Former Employee) –  Tauranga, Bay of Plenty10 May 2017
i didn't work there, i only helped out by volunteering for Raise up and Represent for 32.5 hours as a hp leader at the ymca.

there was a lot of actives
Pros
everyone helps each other
Cons
cant think of one
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Tokoroa, Waikato13 April 2017
Was the CEO of this organisations, resigned due to Board of Directors bullying culture, plus Board not knowing what their role was within the organisation they were there there to govern not to be involved in the operational workings of the organisation.
Pros
Great community organisation
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stunning environment, enjoyable but tough place to work.
Outdoor instructor (Former Employee) –  Lake County23 March 2017
Working for the YMCA has been great but very tough at the same time. My average day started at 9 am and i finished at 8 pm long days most days. The setting tho was beautiful and I really liked the people I worked with. My instructor manager was fantastic and very approachable having said that the higher management were very hard to please and tough to read. I pride myself on working hard so I found this quite difficult to handle and times.
Pros
amazing place, made lots of lifelong friends
Cons
Higher management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YMCA chilcare
Crèche Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New Plymouth, Taranaki9 March 2017
This was my favourite place to work. It was childcare with pretiest kids in YMCA. Where I was to get the Supervisor position. It was sad that I had to leave because we were shifting.
Pros
Good work place
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Christchurch City, Canterbury3 March 2017
This was a great place to volunteer! They made sure everyone part of the group had a good time and they looked after everyone well. I really enjoyed bonding with the people there
Pros
fun outings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
YMCA Holiday program (Former Employee) –  Gisborne13 February 2017
The year I had worked there, i enjoyed every bit even though it was job experience. I would highly recommend this job to any students willing to work in the child education industry.
Pros
Positive environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Gisborne, Gisborne25 January 2017
I enjoyed this volunteering work not only was i working and interacting with kids but there were also courses and programes we could further on to if we chose to work there.
Pros
Free lunches and a different thing every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool workplace
carer (Former Employee) –  Hastings, Hawke's Bay12 November 2016
it was fun being apart of the YMCA team for the last week of the school holidays and getting to help look after the kids and teaching them new stuff and helping them with any problems that they had
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Auckland, Auckland26 June 2016
was here because of sports course in personal training was awesome great life changer got me out the bad enviroment love itg
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wanganui, N4 October 2015
Great team work and communication within a team.
Great stuff to work with.
I learnt how to work a big printer that I haven't used before.
I enjoyed doing my work experience here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 27,054 reviews
511.6K
48.4K
34.7K
21.4K
1987

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture